My Kind of Decorations in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 7, 2021, 4:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good news, Carlo’s labs came back normal. Diego’s are too. So much so that I get to stop giving him a B-12 shot every other week and only do it monthly. It takes about three minutes and is no big deal, but after the year with Sammy and fluids I prefer not to be sticking needles in my beloveds. I do need to give him one medication that he doesn’t like more often, but the vet had some good ideas about making that manageable. And it doesn’t involve needles.

It was very spendy, this trip to the vet. I need to save up for getting Carlo’s teeth addressed at some point. The high blood pressure he exhibited in the examining room must have been garden variety anxiety.

It has been raining and this morning there was a tree down across the big busy nearby road and an accident. It doesn’t look like the tree hit a car but, umm, sudden stopping to avoid said tree in road…it looked like it was just two cars. They had crews out within 15 minutes to get the tree moved. Someone did not have a good morning at all. My heart goes out to them.

On Sunday Most Honorable brought up my early Christmas present. A brand-new Kenmore Elite vacuum cleaner. Very lightweight. Moves easily and has a sensor light to tell you if it thinks you have gotten everything up. They had purchased one earlier in the year for themselves and this one was a Black Friday deal.

While he was here, we took partially apart my older vacuum and besides the fact that the belt was broken, there was a part stuck in place that made vacuuming my poor rugs challenging and not good for my back.

Oh, so, that explains the difficulty I was having…

I have decided that my theme for 2022 is going to be asking for help. Help with my voice, help with my class videos, help with my webpage. I would like to focus on the things I have a chance at being good at and let others who are good at the things I am not so good at have a chance to shine.

As I keep saying, it is all about energy management. I only have so much.

And no surprise, in my quest to try new and different movement patterns I strained one of my hip flexors. I can still teach but I need to be judicious in the other movement I am doing, cardio and weightlifting and squatting for myself.

I need to practice what I preach and rest and work at a balanced expenditure of my energy reserves.

So, say this morning, I took the bus to the grocery instead of walking. Our local transit system, which is good, is cutting back on service starting January 9th because they can’t find enough drivers or maintenance folk.

Although our cases of Covid are back on the upswing we haven’t found the new variant here yet. Fewer people are dying but hospitalizations are up as well, so one can assume from that more deaths will follow. The variant is in both Washington and California, so it is only a matter of time before it is identified here. Despite that the weary populace is in many local areas pretending it is gone.

People are still good here in the grocery stores with masking at least. Kes says down where she is things are a bit more slippery in terms of mask hygiene in stores. People, if they are not mentally ill, are mostly compliant on the bus.

It is going to be an interesting holiday season. I hope your preparations are going well.


Last updated December 09, 2021


mcbee December 08, 2021

Asking for help....what an interesting concept, lol.
I have a big problem with that myself.
Good news on the fur babies!

Jinn December 09, 2021

Good news for the cats ! All my pets need check ups in Jan and Feb. Luckily Blake will pay for Moxie so I just have Paris and the two cats . Crossing fingers they all stay healthy until then.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.