10 days ago in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Dec. 12, 2021, 4:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well actually 2 months ago, we went to a fundraiser function. There was a Silent Auction, and I took full advantage of that! I put my name down on all kinds of things and Do’h.... I won a few more things than my husband would have wanted me to. LOL

While we were at this fundraiser, my husband parked himself at a table. There was already a couple there. We didn’t know them. I was waiting for my friend to show and when she did, we went around the room bidding on things. My husband talked with this couple. In the conversation, he learned that they had a bunch of Reader’s Digest Condensed Book and he....... mistakenly told me. LOL

So, my first Reader’s Digest book I got had two stories that I recall from memory- James Quincy Adams, our 6th President, and “The Lord God made them all” by James Harriet. I became a James Harriet fan after that. My Grandma had mailed this book to me when we were living in England. After I came back to the USA I was living in Colorado. My Pastor’s wife was doing some Garage Sales and came across a box full of Readers Digest Condensed books and called me to see if I wanted them. From there I picked them up at Thrift Stores throughout the different states I have lived. I got a lot of them when I was living in Wisconsin. I had a friend who worked in a Thrift store. They usually didn’t put the Condensed books out because they didn’t sell well. He knew I was looking for them, so he got the okay to set them out.

At this Fundraiser, I got this couple’s name and number and I would be in touch… and time went on. I finally called them 2 weeks ago and they still had them. I got my husband to go with me because they were basically strangers to me.
As we are driving over there my husband made comment that I would probably get like 20 books. I said nothing. I said nothing because if he knew… LOL.. he would have NEVER told me about this couple having these books. As he said later, he knew I had two bookshelves worth and doubled (most shelves have books in front of books), so really… how many more did I need?

We get there and they have books and books and books. (His mother had died about 10 years ago and she had lots of books). Every room was filled with books, and they know the inventory. One of the rooms with books was in alphabetical order! The books I want are in the Garage. I ask my husband if I can get all that I find and he has that look of “where are we gonna put them all, but okay”, (although at that point he had no idea how many I would get).

As I was stacking book after book on a Cardboard Table my husband had the look of “ENOUGH ALREADY!!!!!”
I got about 95 books (A few I realized I didn’t need… opps). Now I lack about 17 for the full set up to 1997.
There are 228 Volumes of Readers Digest Condensed Books from 1950-1997, then the name changed to Select Editions.

So, during Devotions that we do with Family a few nights a week via ZOOM, I am telling them about my BIG Score! My husband said, “If I’d have known she needed so many...... Then he silently mouths “We’d would have never gone there” And I silently mouthed, “That’s why I didn’t tell him” LOL

Surprisingly, my husband is talking about ordering some more bookshelves, so I don’t have to double shelve them. How sweet!


Last updated December 12, 2021


ConnieK December 12, 2021

Good Husband award!

Bird of Paradise ConnieK ⋅ December 13, 2021

He is a great guy!

Hotaru December 12, 2021

He sounds like a good one. My hubby probably regrets allowing me to take my uncle’s books after he died. I didn’t even take all but there’s so many.

Bird of Paradise Hotaru ⋅ December 13, 2021

My Mom has a ton of books. My dad built her bookshelves along the walls from floor to ceiling in the extra bedroom. She has bought many of her books through book club stores like Doubleday since I was born. I did think for a while that one day I may take most of them, but after going to this person's house and seeing all those books in every cranny, I am having second thoughts. Besides we already have 5 Bookshelves of books and more in the Garage.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.