Counting the days. in A small but passable life.

  • Dec. 1, 2021, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another end of the month routine completed. Doing the one load per month laundry on the last day of the month. After washing my sheets I put them away and made my bed with Mom’s flannel set. Just to try out. Ordering groceries on the first day of the month. I received an email from Instacart saying they are renewing me for another year.

I received an email from Starlink saying service should be available in my area sometime in 2023. Hopefully sooner. They’ve been sitting on my $99 deposit for over a year now.

I went looking for a book, published in 2015 (The Unincorporated Man), and found that it is now the first of four books of a series. I found it on thriftbooks.com along with the other three in the series. There was free shipping with orders over $10 so I ordered all four books. Two hardcovers and two paperbacks with free shipping. $21-something total. Better than the out-of-stock $18 paperback on amazon for sure. I know I just broke the twenty-something year old self imposed rule of not purchasing fiction. But who cares!

And now thriftbooks.com ads are showing up here on PB.

The weather this week has settled into what we wait all year for. Afternoons in the mid to low eighties and nights down into the low fifties. Cloudless and windless days.

Perfect days for lounging at the pool.

I’ve strung up the outside X-mas lights.

Daughter will arrive in nineteen days! She’s bringing her backpacking gear and X-mas presents for me. I should be getting a carton of smokes (Missouri price 1/4 of Arizona price!) and three pair of new reading spectacles from Dollar Twenty-Five Tree (Used to be strength of 2.50 now 2.75).

So yeah, life. Retirement life. The Golden Years. (The slide into oblivion?)

The new Celero5G phone is great. It’ll go about a week between charges (down to 20%) and only takes about an hour to recharge to 100%. And I did figure out how to access the 12 gigs of music on the microSD card- an app called Audify Music Player. No iTunes needed!

Day after tomorrow will be the first anniversary of Mom’s moving on to whatever comes next. Sure doesn’t seem like a whole year.


Last updated December 01, 2021


Emily December 01, 2021

Woo retirement!

Jinn December 02, 2021

I hope you have a great visit with your daughter.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.