A Chorus of Knitters in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 28, 2021, 12:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Other than a picture of Diego, this is the first picture I took on the first outing with the new phone. Walking to the grocery on Tuesday. Very November, which can’t be over soon enough as far as I am concerned.

Today it is dry, and I will get out. I am going down to our state historical society. They have a great gift shop and a 20% off deal for members. I like supporting them and they got hammered last year with all the lawless breaking of things after all the folks practicing healthy civil disobedience went home.

My sister did a lot of research there that had to do with the research she was doing on the older buildings in Seattle as a retirement side gig. Now that she is gone the legacy is alive in me. The League of Women Voter’s folks in my study group were beyond thrilled when I talked about the history of the area and the legacy of the suffragettes.

This week I am working on the biomechanics of standing up.

Mrs. Sherlock is interested in the physical challenges I set for myself, and because this week I started working on pistol squats, which are basically one-legged squats (with the foot off the floor in front of you) we were fooling around with the version you do with a chair. It is not pretty but most everyone can sit down with one foot lifted without holding on to anything.

When I am well rested, I can stand up on one leg with no hands. Mrs. Sherlock can’t get even close. Her lower body does not come off the chair. As she has two artificial knees I was wondering if limited knee flexion based on the way her knees work is the issue, but I am having a heck of a time finding the answer. What I want to know is, if she can’t get up, is it useful to try, or is it a structural issue.

I guess I will keep asking around. My teachers in Pull-Up Club were having technical issues with their system so even though I sent them the question they couldn’t hear me when I tried to be specific on the live call. And this coming week the cats are both going to the vet for a maintenance visit just after the live call so I will need to bail early.

It is funny, Most Honorable and I have been trying to figure this out all weekend. It is a holiday puzzle. He pinged me yesterday to say that he had managed it in his slightly higher desk chair.

I wonder if there is a Physical Therapist or Orthopedic Surgeon in my wider family group. I have never had an interest in inquiring in my genetic history until now. I know we have a set of biological cousins in California on my mother’s side that I know nothing about.

Speaking of weird uses of genetic or family history I watched the not very good cozy movie on Netflix yesterday called “Christmas at the Castle”. It has Brooke Shields playing the lead. She is 56 and the male lead is 59 so that was kind of nice to see a romance with a later middle age, both married before, bent.

The absurd story revolves around a Scottish Castle that the owner is having trouble maintaining. The actor that plays the lead looks a fair amount like Mr. Finch even though he is English and not Scottish. Mr. Finch was descended from Scottish nobility and the arrogance was similar. When I imagined Mr. Finch in his fore-bearers castle it did not look like this over-the-top guilt roomed one though. The floors looked like they might be the same however.

The chorus of supporting actors in this movie are knitters who knit in a local pub together. Kes would love that! With Covid, getting together with her knitting friends has been an ongoing challenge and knitting and chatting on Zoom just isn’t the same. I hope this new year brings her that connection she craves.

Maybe someone in her community will get the idea from the movie.

Oh, and one of her friends is calling the new Covid variant the Oh-My-God variant, which seems appropriate at this point.

The cats are sleeping and I have chores before I go. Double masked all the way.


Last updated November 28, 2021


Jinn November 29, 2021

It’s a daily challenge for me just to get out of bed and later my chair , but I need both my legs and a fair amount of determination.
I saw that movie. Initially I was not impressed. Shields seemed so stiff and stilted . She improved as it went on , thank goodness. I thought all the other actors were better and they carried the movie. It was a very Hallmark feeling film, I put them on when I am only half paying attention :-)

Zipster November 30, 2021

Just the idea of pistol squats make my head spin and my knees ache. I think there's a bit of use it or lose it in there. I think I will attempt this with supports within reach.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.