Never joo mind in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 28, 2021, 10:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

29.  What is a nervous tic you have and how did you acquire it?

(The title is how some of my Spanish teachers would have pronounced “never you mind”).

I don’t think I’ve ever had a nervous tic. What I do do is absent mindedly mimic people. It’s never meant as a piss-take or a stalker thing, I just do it.

So I will mimic an accent, mannerisms, speech inflections etc… which is why people don’t always realise I’m from Yorkshire. I mean, I left Yorkshire in 1994 but I’ve met people who’ve been gone for longer than that and still have the accent whereas, for me, while I still have bAths in cAstles (as opposed to bARths in cARstles), I mostly have a nondescript accent because I pick bits up here and there.

I had oughta be careful though; my work team mate has one hell of a twitch, I’d better not pick that up!!

However, when I was living in Florida (yes, I crammed a lot into that year), I did get a tic. I was sweeping the tennis court in the back yard (check the photo I put in a previous NoJoMo entry with the photo of the pool, you’ll see the tennis court on the right hand side) and spotted a rotund bug attached to my leg, I flicked it off. It was a couple of years before I discovered that (a) it was a tic and (b) it could have given me Lyme disease!! Thankfully it didn’t! I didn’t name that tic. Perhaps I muttered “fucker” under my breath but I didn’t have the affection for it that I have for Phil.


IHeartSirPaulMcCartney November 29, 2021

I come from Canada and they say we have an accent but I don't see it. I mean, some ppl will say we say 'aboot' and all that garbage but I don't hear it. I hear it in Scottish accents but not Canadian. :) I have Tourettes so, I swear a lot. I doubt very much you would like to mimic me lol!!!

ermentrude IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ⋅ November 29, 2021

I swear like a fucking sailor, my swearing is by choice though. I hope you feel comfortable with your Tourette’s and think “fuck ‘em” to anyone with judgy pants on!

IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ermentrude ⋅ November 29, 2021

Ha ha ha! :D I love it!!! You are my new PB friend my dear!!! <3

thesunnyabyss IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ⋅ November 29, 2021

As a Canadian I don't know anyone but JJ McCullough who says aboot, and he does it purposefully, lol!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 29, 2021

🤣🤣🤣

IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ermentrude ⋅ November 29, 2021

You are Canadian too? Awesome!! :D

thesunnyabyss IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ⋅ November 29, 2021

Thatt I am!

IHeartSirPaulMcCartney thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 01, 2021

I live in Ontario... where Doug Ford is wreaking havoc on us. :P

thesunnyabyss IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ⋅ December 01, 2021

Currently in Alberta where Kenney says 'Hold my beer Ontario' LOL I had hoped he wouldn't be this bad.

But I'm from southern Ontario and hope to move back soonish.

IHeartSirPaulMcCartney thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 01, 2021

Dougie and Kenney can go straight to Tophet Hell. I'm originally from Taranna (Toronto lol) and now live in Newmarket which is comfortably north of the Big Smoke.

thesunnyabyss IHeartSirPaulMcCartney ⋅ December 01, 2021

I was born and raised in the Hamilton area, I am aware of Tranna and Newmarket.

I'd like to move back, family and grandkids growing but the housing market right now, can't touch it.

IHeartSirPaulMcCartney thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 01, 2021

You should add Todd on here. He is my friend from Hamilton. (toddslife) LOL!!! That's good! I know the housing market sucks. :(

thesunnyabyss November 29, 2021

I think people do that a lot subconsciously, especially mimicking body language, makes us feel more connected or something,

Phil is like part of the family now, LOL!!!

Jinn November 30, 2021

Mimicking helps to build rapport if dine

colojojo February 20, 2022

I feel like living in so many different places makes people naturally “mimic” their surroundings… and when they’re re exposed to those areas, they pick up on those habits in an instant. I feel like it’s a form of human adaptation.

Landry makes fun of me all the time… if I watch British bake off or a British tv show, the way I talk changes and he starts mocking my slight British accent 😂 I never would’ve had that watching tv shows if I hadn’t lived in England. It’s so interesting how it happens.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.