NJM19: I'm Risky and I Know It in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 19, 2021, 9:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, now I can say that I’m speaking out of both sides of my mouth.

Last night I went to a get-together at Lovely’s house. She’d invited me to a Botox party. She’s been inviting me to these for years now. I’ve never attended a single one of them because I was already going to a medical office for “the bo” and figured I’d continue with that. But then I didn’t and I started going to a place that fit with my schedule but it was really expensive and…then chemotherapy put an end to anything going into my body that wasn’t part of the protocol.

Since I’m now over 8 weeks post-treatment and have had zero amounts of anything injected into my face since January, I thought it was a perfect time to maybe try out Lovely’s nurse and see what the buzz of going to a Botox party was all about.

So I did. And it was fantastic. So many women I haven’t seen in sooooo long - it was like a homecoming of sorts. But it was also wild because I realized that I was mingling in a house full of middle-aged women and realized that, YES, we are middle aged and we look and act like it! When did that happen? These were the girls I’d go clubbing with and act a fool around just yesterday! Look at us now. When did this happen?

And that’s also where talking out of both sides of my mouth comes into play. There were about 15 of us at this party, and none of us were wearing masks. I have taken a big risk for fun, friendship and beauty. I understood that everyone there had at least two vaccinations and most had gotten their booster, but still…I can’t afford to get Covid right before Thanksgiving! I’m hosting!

So as I wait for “the bo” to take hold of my forehead and freeze my wrinkles (and whoa, did I need it), I will also be holding my breath and praying that the germs didn’t get me!

Was it foolish? Yeah, probably. Was it a blast to see everyone? Definitely. Was it worth it? Time will tell.

I suppose that life is all just a series of risks, right? And weighing out what will hurt you the least. I believe I need my friendships now more than ever, so I took that risk.

Also, it cost me about half of what I was paying at the medical office and the more convenient med spa. And there was wine!

Oh I sound so cheugy! I am ok with that.

Enjoy your Friday,
GS


Complicated Disaster November 19, 2021

Meh. I went to a restaurant last night which was stupid given that I'm going to Tenerife next weekend but sometimes you just have to. xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 19, 2021

Yeah, sometimes you have to.

Athena November 19, 2021

Well, I did attend what just a year ago would have been deemed a superspreader event and in Florida no less. I thought nothing of it at the time and then felt really fucking stupid this week. So, you know. It's not like before times but it's where we are.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ November 19, 2021

Yep. It's really weird where we are, but it's better than isolation, which is what I"m still doing 75% of the time.

bouchie November 19, 2021

A little cheugy never hurt anybody.

Ginger Snap bouchie ⋅ November 19, 2021

Haha! Feels pretty okay!

Deleted user November 19, 2021

I am so cheugy, I didn't know what "cheugy" meant and had to look it up.

Florentine November 19, 2021

I feel like I’ve JUST RECENTLY realized that Botox was a thing that was… commonplace? Like I’m clearly now old enough that everyone I know is getting it. I am late to the party. 😅

Jinn November 19, 2021

I never heard of a Botox party :-)

plushcreep November 20, 2021

Nah, you weren't foolish at all. At some point we have to ease up and start living life again. After all you've been through, you deserved the botox party!

pandora November 21, 2021

I have gone back to seeing friends and family without masks at private gatherings. I really love the normalcy of it, even if it IS a bit risky. In public it’s 100% mask but I do trust being around vaccinated people indoors.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.