PLAYING HOUSE in Postcards 4

  • Nov. 12, 2021, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

It looks as if we are having Thanksgiving here. Daughter Margot has acquired a whole meal plus cranberry sauce and is bringing it here to prepare. I wasn’t quite ready for that, but as long as it is only two folks, I am adaptable. And too, it’s going to be fun to use the table.

In fact, I’m kind of looking forward to playing with my dishes and table fabrics. I have drawers filled with place mats, table cloths, and napkins leftover from the days when I was an antique store. It was an interesting way of paying off my student loans. Along the way we found ourselves with a nice collection of Russell Wright dishes in the brown/cinnamon and plates in white.

alt text

Green too. The fifties Bauer bowls will go nicely with the green platters and plates. Did I say that? Silly me. It sounds as if I’m playing house with my own things. Maybe all the medical stuff has reduced me to a 13 year old. It’s ok after all.

- Himself: A Costco run for paper towels and TP. Pizza too, then a goodly stint in space. Games be him.
- Myself: Read wrote, ate hotdog at Costco, Writing this, and pancakes for dinner.
- Reading: V3: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
- Watching: North woods law. I read.
- Photo: Mine.
- Weather: Hot, in the 80’s, and feeling very hot out of the shade.
- Gratitude’s: Feeling very good today.


Last updated November 12, 2021


Jinn November 12, 2021

Feeling very good today tops it all ! ❤️

MageB Jinn ⋅ November 12, 2021

yES, IT DOES.

Zipster November 12, 2021

I love all your plates! I like your kitchen. The hanging items have the look of Julia Child's kitchen. It sure was toasty today, even at Shelter Island, the breeze was less than cooling.

hippiechica15 November 13, 2021

I love all these plates and have a similar big teal bowl. Things are meant to be used so have fun making the table beautiful!

gattaca November 13, 2021

We had a houseful of Russel Wright mid-century Conant Ball furniture when I was growing up. My mother treasured it.

aunty EM November 14, 2021

Ha! We are still getting settled in our new little space. First thing daughter did was remove three sets of dishes, two of them service for 12, for lack of cupboard space. We are quite sure we won't be entertaining elegantly in the foreseeable future anyhow. Elegant is not really part of the lifestyle in these parts. Family gatherings will be at her place in the country, or at their lakeside summer spot with the ever-glorious big sky and a firepit.

NorthernSeeker November 14, 2021

Sounds like Thanksgiving will be fun. I love the colours of your dishware...they are very inviting. They say "we can be pretty AND serviceable".

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.