NJM11: 11/11 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 11, 2021, 9:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

11/11 is Singles Day in China. 1111. See all of those singles just standing there?

For a while it was the day that the Chinese and I think some other countries would break the internet by purchasing anything and everything on Alibaba, the Chinese version of Amazon. And I guess some other websites.

But I read somewhere today that the Chinese are becoming more austere and less extravagant with their purchasing. The news says sales are down, although Bloomberg says they are up?? What to believe?

Anyway, all of this to say I’ve started trying to shop for Christmas (yes - the person who told all of you to shop in July!), and of course I want to get a deal, so I watch for ads.

Today, Philosophy had a site-wide sale for singles day, so of course I clicked because ecommerce. I had a coupon for 40% off everything.

But those fuckers had exclusions on literally everything! Not one thing I put in my basket were on sale. What to do? I tried several times and many different items to ake sure this wasn’t the case, but again, everything that I tried was excluded from the sale in one way or another.

I left without buying anything. I did that at Target the other day, too. Who DOES that, right?

But look, stores, don’t advertise HUGE sales and bargains if you’re not gonna put your money where your mouth is.

I’m exhausted from sitting here trying to shop! And I accomplished nothing!

Bedtime,
GS


Firebabe November 11, 2021

Unfortunately, a common practice. It's a well-known psychological fact that if you can get a consumer into the store / on the website, they will buy something even if it's not the Thing that they were planning on buying. Brick and mortar stores do this sometimes but it's more common in online shops because there's no physical person for the customer to make a fuss to. Frustrating and depressing in equal measure.

pandora November 12, 2021

It always gives me pleasure to shop and then walk away from my cart (electronically). I like the act of shopping; I like the philosophy (ha!) of minimalism. Online shopping without purchase allows me to achieve both! But I’m sorry for your frustration—that does suck.

Complicated Disaster November 12, 2021

In my mind a successful shopping trip is when I don't buy anything! 🤣🤣 Xx

Jinn November 12, 2021

I like to shop but this year everyone might be getting gift cards. I just need simple :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.