Nov. Journal Month - 9 in --

  • Nov. 9, 2021, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Welp I’m doing my best here with trying to write as often as I feel up to it.

Out of order, as usual, I took the below prompt from someone and I’m gonna use it for today. I’m rather enjoying the prompt-anarchy strategy I’ve got going.

List five (5) interesting facts about yourself.

  1. I’m an identical twin.
  2. I can’t do a cartwheel no matter how hard I try.
  3. I can read very quickly.
  4. I’ve never stayed at a job for longer than 1.5 years.
  5. I struggle with how to spell “emperor” and “anomaly” (relied on autocorrect there) even though I won my entire school spelling bee in 5th grade. I think I peaked in life at that point tbh.

Small Town Girl November 09, 2021

It always amazes me how people can get jobs with that kind of job history, not saying this in a judgemental way at all. Just more wondering what the trick is!? I have longevity going for me and I struggle to get hired.

martian princess Small Town Girl ⋅ November 09, 2021

I'm usually just honest about my career path and I had opportunities come up and took them, and generally the hiring managers understood, and trusted that I'd stay with the company but would seek promotions from within rather than constantly looking elsewhere (gets exhausting). When I was interviewing I was really trying to vet the company culture in terms of career growth, and fortunately my company is very big on that. In my field (clinical research) people tend to move around between different roles until they find the right fit, or they pursue opportunities that come up. They also tend to move up within a company or move to other companies after a few years. Most people who work in research can't count on jobs lasting forever either because the funding runs out, or people keep trying to move up the ladder. I'm working in the private sector now vs the public sector and funding is more stable so I'll probably stay in the private sector. I also get paid more than when I worked for the public sector.

Small Town Girl martian princess ⋅ November 10, 2021

Oh okay, interesting. I guess it makes sense then with the research aspect that most people don't have that constant worry of funding ending. Plus I bet its easier to find jobs in research.

❤️vee November 09, 2021

I am horrible at monthly/daily prompts!

similar to #5, I struggle saying "edited" because I forget what syllable I'm on or it just sounds super awkward anyway "ed ed ed"

martian princess ❤️vee ⋅ November 09, 2021

Omg now I'm saying it in my head and struggling, questioning everything. 😂

❤️vee martian princess ⋅ November 09, 2021

seriously though, why is it so hard??

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.