Tent? What tent? in Stuff

  • Nov. 9, 2021, 4:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m feeling pretty good today. Went and ran a few errands. Got some steel caps and new work pants for work (since I literally felt and HEARD mine split at work on Sunday LOL). The steel caps are because I got an email saying apparently I am doing pallet-jack training this Friday along with three other staff members. I avoided it last time as I have an issue with wearing steel caps but I tried them on today and they actually didn’t feel too bad on my feet. Thankfully they had size 13. They aren’t completely black but will have to do. I always liked the idea of wearing my joggers to work AND to the gym, but now I think I’ve decided I’ll just have to keep the steel-caps in my locker at work and change into them whenever I need to unload a truck. That way I won’t have to carry two damn pairs of shoes around in my bag. Ergh, still annoying. Anyway, apparently it costs work $850 each time to get this company out to train staff so it looks like I’ll be doing it. Even though I’ve been using the pallet jack and forklift for over a decade, all these regulations and such require every single person to be trained and sign into them with their unique codes and such.

News today is that my state can finally stop wearing masks everywhere when we hit 80% (We’re at 79.5%) single-dose, which is a far cry from other states. My state just has too many anti-vaxxers and people on the Gold Coast haven’t been wearing them for months anyway lol. So I think the government has realized our double-vaxxed 90% target just isn’t going to happen. The vaccination status regulations are going to piss a lot of the anti-vaxxers off though. They won’t be able to get into many places at all. They’re not going to have a good time! (insert meme here).
alt text
I guess I just can’t understand how this vaccine is any different to the many I’ve had since I was a baby, and that’s where my issue lies with the anti-vaxxers. You know, unless they’ve been right all along and I now have a Chinese chip implanted within me. I’d rather the chance of not dying from it if I do get Covid-19 thanks. And as I work in a supermarket where masks will not be required soon, my chances are higher. The new-normal is me just hoping to God that I’m healthy enough to recover from it when it’s my turn. I’ve read too many articles from nurses in the ICU units saying that 95% of the deaths are in the unvaccinated. These new anti-viral pills from Pfizer sound promising though.

With the world moving on (hopefully) and opening up, I spontaneously bought tickets to Mardi Gras next year. I didn’t go this year so I feel I’ve had a bit of a break from it and I haven’t left my state in two years. So I saw the Qantas points sale and took advantage of it. The accommodation though, my God, so expensive. I think they are trying to make up for lost business by hiking the prices, which shouldn’t be too much of a surprise, but right now I’ve chosen a hotel that I really remember liking the last time I stayed there, and it’s a little more convenient than the other one I liked. It’s a loft, which for some reason is a design I absolutely love, and it seems to be the only hotel in Sydney I’ve come across with a design like that. There’s probably AirBNB’s but I’ve still never used one. Anyway, keeping my eye out for price drops elsewhere as it’s not until March. I assume my Premier will let me back in the state by then lol. I’ve signed up to the newsletter for when tickets go on sale to the parade at the cricket ground again (it looked awesome on TV this year) but I’m a bit worried about going to that by myself when everyone else will be in their friend groups. So I might just skip that one and watch on TV from the hotel. I dunno, yet to decide.

I also bought a god-damn tent on the ClickFrenzy sale - to replace my current tent which I’ve also barely used lol. This one is apparently an easy set-up, since I always do everything by myself, maybe this will convince me to actually go camping. I recall struggling at Tropical Fruits (which was cancelled last year and this year) with the poles on the tent trying to set it up by myself - you know, cos I do everything alone. I like the idea of an easier set-up and being able to read my book without the tent falling on top of me in the middle of the night. Anyway, the advertising got me and now I have a god-damn tent on the way.
I still have $1000 of credit to use before it expires in January on another site from when I got my sofa returned. I’m worried if I don’t order it soon, I may not even be living here to collect it, given the delivery delays lately.

I’ve been invited to Vish’s tonight. I was going to go last night but then found out he was having four other friends over for Diwali so I felt a bit anxious, so going tonight instead. Andrew also invited me over for dinner tonight which was nice but now I have plans so that’ll have to wait.


Last updated November 09, 2021


kmh. November 09, 2021

Ooooh tell me about the tent! I have a Coleman instant up 4 person tent and I bloody love it. I can put it up by myself, and well you know how short I am haha xx

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ November 10, 2021

Well I haven't got it yet but it sounds similar to yours (except it's a 3-person). It's called the 3-sec-tent so that sounds good to me compared to fighting with all those damn poles with my current one lol.
My sleeping bag is a Coleman 😁

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.