The Eagle Guy is Gone in Days of My Destiny

  • May 19, 2014, 11:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Damn.....

When I was in China, I used to chat a lot with Chilean guys (back when you used to actually have a website for chatrooms and you used to "enter" them lol).

A lot of those guys were douchebags who wanted to see me naked (aren't those guys all over the world?! Sigh), but there were a few with whom I formed great friendships. Unfortunately once I moved back to Australia, those friendships died out quite suddenly as I moved home, spent time with my family, soon moved out of home and spent the rest of my time either at work or with my new boyfriend (now husband, woot woo!)

I used to chat with Cristian and his mates fairly regularly. I can't remember much about them, seeing as most of our conversations were meaningless and mucking around lol. They used to send me links to these funny but horrible cartoons, lol. They were fun to "hang out" with in those lonely times. I remember that one guy's mother had moved to the US and he was waiting for her to save up enough money so that he could go and live with his mum again.

There was another guy whose name I now can't remember. His surname was Santibanez and he used to have pet eagles. He'd go out to these mountains and fly his eagles around.... it was pretty freaking cool! He was so passionate about his eagles and he'd send me photos of these eagles happily sitting on his arm. (eagles??! Not sure what bird exactly it was now lol) He had a girlfriend and a daughter, both who were living in Sweden at the time. Eventually that relationship came to an end, even though the girlfriend moved back to Chile. He loved his daughter deeply. She was about 3 at the time.

When I moved home, I did keep in contact with this guy for some time. In fact my mum and dad even met him on a webcam once, lol. He congratulated me when I got married. His career as a bird-guy took off and a few years ago I saw that he was on a documentary that was aired on Chilean TV. When facebook was developed, we were friends on there too. I'd write to him occasionally and say hi.

It occurred to me just now that it'd be AWESOME to meet him finally, and introduce my family to him while he introduced his birds to us. I thought how amazing it would be for my girls to have this experience - to meet a man who is so in tune with nature and who can hold an eagle on his arm.

I looked him up on facebook......... and he's not on my friends list anymore. He must've deleted me, who knows when. The worst part is.. I can't even remember his first name. It would've been cool..... but sadly, it just won't happen.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.