The Future? Dystopia Manifests Before Our Eyes in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 12, 2021, 8:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Except for walks and the occasional medical appointment and trips to visit Mrs. and Mr. Sherlock at home the only place I go anymore is the grocery.

This is “my” bus stop this morning. The Oregon Maples are putting on their annual show. I have been going to this store and taking the bus home from it at this stop for 12 years now, so I have seen it in all kinds of weather with all kinds of fauna. I have been walking the 3 ½ miles there and taking the bus home the last couple of months since we started our Delta variant surge.

Our case counts are finally going down. We are still losing over 20 people a day in our state, and we hit the 4,000 total deaths marker over the weekend. It is beyond heart breaking. And we are lucky based on our population.

Mrs. Sherlock and I drove through our downtown area twice on Saturday to get to and from the flat neighborhood that overlooks the river on the other side we wanted to walk through.

I have lived in urban environments since I was 15. It takes a lot to shock me.

On Saturday I was shocked. Welcome to our dystopian future. A large percentage of our police force has retired or quit since the civil unrest last year. We have this bizarre form of city government that is proving itself to be ineffective.

Our downtown is full of mentally ill, and or drug addicted, and or unhoused people suffering quite publicly. It is bad. The things I saw in our two short trips through were disturbing and haunting… At 10 AM, a thin woman walking down a sidewalk no shoes, no pants or skirt, no bag, filthy legs, wearing a man’s jacket with the distinct possibility of nothing underneath talking loudly to herself right across the street from our central police department.

Two blocks away, a tent encampment with trash everywhere but no sort of ordinary people anywhere to be seen. There was another block with housing and services but people wandering around in every kind of mental distress you can imagine. The above woman was not the only person I saw that was mostly or partially naked. We had 13 shootings over the weekend.

And just in case you think I am being dramatic; we have a lovely Chinese Garden in the area we call Old Town. It is a one block walled garden, serene, it honors all the Chinese laborers who did so much of the work of building this city before they were excluded.

This morning the director sent out a frantic email to anyone who had ever been a member asking us to contact everyone we could think of in government to do something about the crime in the area. She can’t keep her staff safe from those that are desperate and those that prey on them. There was another email later in the day with email addresses of all our elected officials.

I do not know what I am going to do come January if the church reopens to classes and I could start teaching there in person again. The area around the church is as bad as all the other areas down there.

We have always had unhoused people and drug addicts, I am not a shrinking violet but this, this is at a magnitude I have never seen before.

They are setting up three “safe rest villages” with toilets and showers and some cooking facilities in the next few weeks. One is six blocks from where I live. It is supposed to take about 60 people. At least there will be trash pickup and some rules. There are about that many people living rough, near there, now.

This is collateral damage. From the pandemic, from the polarized politics, from our shameful racist history as a state, from greed and from late-stage capitalism.

In the meantime, I am grateful for all I do have. Whether we like it or not, we are all connected through all the seasons. All this makes me realize how insanely easy I have had it in my life compared to people throughout history and born into other circumstances.

How the heck do we turn this ship around? How do we safely care for others as we safely care for ourselves? Is that even possible?

It is like a Zen Koan. I keep asking the question. I will keep asking the question.


Last updated October 12, 2021


Deleted user October 12, 2021

This is a tragedy, and another modern, real-life horror. Perhaps that is why I love fantasy horror so much. The real stuff is too soul-searingly awful.

woman in the moon October 13, 2021

i'm glad for the photo. I like seeing where you are and what you see.
Again - I wish the world was a better place.

woman in the moon October 13, 2021

The maples are beautiful.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ October 13, 2021

They are indeed. I look forward to them every year and now we are having a drought I get to see them more often in some sort of light.

edna million October 14, 2021

What absolutely gorgeous maples! The homeless problem is just awful, and getting worse here too. Our town is WAY smaller of course, but there's been a big increase in homeless people since the pandemic started. Part of our Greenway where I generally walk is right by a community garden which looks like it's turning into a tent city, and we routinely pass people on the paths that are living rough. There's one bridge I've just given up on going under if I'm by myself, because it's a hangout and you can't tell if anyone's under there until you're there yourself. I feel awful about it and rarely feel truly threatened, but combined with the massive meth problem here it's really a landslide of a disaster for everyone who is on the financial edge. Asheville is much worse, being a good sized city with a big downtown, and a river with tent cities all over the place.

mcbee October 14, 2021

I live in suburbs, so I don't have to deal with much crime (although even the burbs in Atlanta have their fair share) but it breaks my heart how our entire country suffers from much greater poverty and crime than should have ever happened. It's so wrong. If Greed hadn't become the new mantra for politicians, we could easily have taken care of most of these problems and saved lives by not spending on useless wars. Such bad decisonmakers we always end up having....at every level....local, state and country.

Jinn November 06, 2021

You live in a beautiful place that is being trashed. Government needs to step up and figure this out. They have looked the other way too long.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.