Big Updates on Various in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 12, 2021, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m still working on my End of Chemo story. It appears I got sidetracked by life. I suppose I should update on various:

Cancer: because this is the biggest thing in my life going on right now. I have my first post-chemo CT scan tomorrow. Then I won’t get back with the oncologist to discuss my results until a WEEK later. It just seems like an awful long time, but I will try not to stress out about it too much. We in the cancer community (ha, that sounds funny) call it #scanxiety. It’s a real thing. I’m sure I’ll experience it for a long, long time.

The State of My Body: I feel like I’ve aged 10+ years since diagnosis. And I bet my body truly has aged at least that much just due to the beating it’s taken. I’ve lost and gained back 10 lbs since surgery in February. I let myself eat what my body was craving during chemo (which was not always the healthiest choice), and I slacked on exercise even though I tried. Even my walking - my favorite thing in the world - suffered. I need a new plan that will help me get back into feeling healthy. I’m almost over that chemo slump where I feel meh every day…starting to feel better and better, though the fog and fatigue are still there. I hope they lift soon.

Love Life: Non-existent. Like, not even a nibble. After The Cyclist I just felt like I had zero energy to even try. And then the flirty Donut Cowboy being married was kinda the kicker that just had me throwing in the towel. But I think part of my State of My Life Address (coming soon) should include a plan for getting back out there in some form. Will think about this.

Social Life: Also leaves a lot to be desired. I’m still very concerned about the covid and keeping safe, but I’m also very tired of staying at home. Had a tiny get-together with Maria and Best Bud at my place on Saturday and that was soooooo nice - we drank Veuve Clicquot Rose and some other bubbles, I made a vegan charcuterie board and we grazed and talked and talked and talked. Granted, I couldn’t get a word in edgewise with those two and actually felt myself getting annoyed because those two have MASSIVE personalities, but then I leaned into it and got more into it and it was the best evening I’ve had in a long time. But I want to get OUT too.

Work: Stress, yes. But then, I’m just tired of stressing about it. I have started dipping my toe back out there, but I almost don’t have the energy for a full-on search. Yes, I need the insurance, so I need to keep working, but I’m tired of thinking so hard about this and letting it get to me. Plus, I have so much going on with work now I’ve been super-duper busy lately. How to get a new job when your buried well over your head with your current job? And doctor visits?

The Treehouse: The thing that probably gives me the most joy right now. I love my place. I still have some finishing touches and some organizing to do, but I absolutely can’t wait to get home from work every evening so I can just relax in my little treehouse. Still need to do decorating in both of the bathrooms - my main bathroom is going to be all about luxury, sparkle and shine and my guest bath is a tropical paradise. And my bedroom needs decor as well. I finally got my dresser so I organized that and have my closet nearly done, but I need artwork for the walls and I think a nice, big floor mirror. Bottom line is, the Treehouse has been the best thing that’s happened all year.

Vacation: All I ever wanted! My birthday is coming up and I want to take a small road trip and I have a place in mind - now all I need to do is to confirm the dates. My effing licensing partner has said they want to have a licensee summit sometime before the end of October but haven’t given us a date yet. How am I supposed to plan my little vacay? Anyway, I may end up doing a little solo spa vacation for a couple of days. Stay tuned for that. But I also have a BIG bucket list idea for next year around this time… I want to go here to see the Aurora Borealis!!! And I want to stay in an igloo!. Who wants to go with me???

So…that’s it for now. I need to get back to work. I owe myself the following:

  • Finish the End of Chemo story
  • My State of My Life Address
  • The rest of my Bucket List!

See you soon-ish!
GS


Complicated Disaster October 12, 2021

Ohhhhh! Alaska looks *amazing*!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ October 12, 2021

Doesn't it? I have a friend who went here and that's how I found the website. She absolutely LOVED her trip!

Deleted user October 12, 2021

That looks nice! I drool over this one: https://www.kakslauttanen.fi/

bobbi01 October 13, 2021

I thought Iceland too! It's so nice to have a nest you look forward to returning to.

Jinn October 29, 2021

Vacay sounds very exciting!

pandora November 04, 2021

I've seen the Aurora Borealis in Northern Canada (Iqaluit) and it was so amazing - I'd love to do the igloo thing in Iceland!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.