LISTENING in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 10, 2021, 12:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text
Listening is all important. No one asked me what I was going to do today, but I can be found at the sewing machine. I’d tell you that if you asked. Most days I manage an hour or so there. I confess, endlessly sewing leaves is very boring. Even freehand it is a very boring thing. And physically it is hard work dragging the beyond king sized quilt through the small throat of the machine. If I had no end date on my life, I would go get a long arm machine.

I did ask George what he was planning to do today. “Bake bread,” he replied. “Order groceries, get gas at Costco, do a load of laundry, and go play in space,” he told me smiling. I smiled back.

Keeping up with other lives, Bobbie is in New York City opening a new show. “Very successful,” she tells me. Daughter Margot got a promotion which makes her full time with bennies, and Granddaughter Zoe got mostly A’s with one B this latest report card. Sometimes I think the spoken word passes right over my head. Often these days, I can’t even find the word I want. Then I wake and I understood what is happening and find the lost word too. I’m somewhat reassured that some of the things happening around me are getting through.

  • Himself: CBS Sunday morning and all of the above.
  • Myself: Scribbling and sewing.
  • Reading: Henderson’s People. The Clinton/Penny book is out on Tuesday.
  • Watching: CNN’s the Windsor’s, and To Catch a Smuggler.
  • Photo: Mine. 2009. Roberta and Marion.
  • Weather: Cold but sunny.
  • Gratitude’s: That I have the strength to pull that quilt through my machine.

Zipster October 10, 2021

Hope you caught the Penny/Clinton interview on CBS Sunday Morning.

MageB Zipster ⋅ October 10, 2021

Yes, I did. Delightful.

woman in the moon October 10, 2021

You're doing a free-hand quilted pattern of leaves? I'm very impressed. I so admire quilting.

NorthernSeeker October 12, 2021

Congrats to Zoe on the good report card and to Margot on her promotion. Also best wishes to Bobby that her art show continues to be popular.

Jinn November 05, 2021

All good things except being bored doing leaves :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.