Long overdue and crochet related in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • Oct. 7, 2021, 9:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you’re not remotely interested in crochet or home crafting or whatever, I’d strongly advise skipping this one. I’m just responding to a request a while back for photographs of crochet and Milo (I haven’t uploaded Milo pics yet, so this is the crochet one).

I started doing crochet in the middle of December last year. And the pictures that follow are of the first ‘proper’ item I made, which is a Crochet Along blanket called Fruit Garden by Janie Crow.

These images are of the Acanthus rectangles that go around the outer edge, as they’re being worked:

Acanthus2

Acanthus4

This is the centre squares being joined:

Fruit-Garden-pre-border

This is the blanket being blocked:

Fruit-Garden-Blocking

And finished:

Fruit-Garden-on-Sofa

It took me about 2 months to complete this, and when I started it, I didn’t have a clue how to follow a pattern or do any of the stitches contained in it. I followed tutorial videos and the pattern alongside those, and winged it. It was such fun I’ve started another one.

I have done a lot more items since then, and am currently on my third blanket. I can’t find my Lost Garden pictures at the moment - that was the second blanket I did, and even more fun than the Fruit Garden (what is it with Gardens???) one. I took a lot of photographs of that, but I think they’re on my phone, so will take a bit of digging out. Anyway, these are pics of my ‘heirloom’ piece, and I’m very proud of it.


thesunnyabyss October 07, 2021

Saw you on the front page, beautiful work!

Icklewriter thesunnyabyss ⋅ October 07, 2021

Thank you!

patrisha October 07, 2021

I admire what you have done ! I can't see myself doing this because I do not have the patience. However, I also remember when I used to do really complicated knitting. And it sucked me in when I started doing it! LOL

Icklewriter patrisha ⋅ October 08, 2021

I used to do very complicated knitting too. But it started to cause me wrist pain, and I realised even though it was my technique, I couldn't change how I did it, so I got a knitting machine, and that was my new obsession. But that takes up a lot of room, and honestly it wasn't he same anyway. I'm now finding that crochet is my 'home' in the sense that it's easy, it doesn't cause me pain, and it's way more portable than knitting. :-)

crystalrose October 07, 2021

Wow it's so pretty, so much detail

Icklewriter crystalrose ⋅ October 08, 2021

All credit to the designer. All the designers are such geniuses.

Firebabe October 07, 2021

Oh, I love this so much!

I still have the blanket my grandmother crocheted for me when I was 2. I also have a picture floating around somewhere of me at 2 years old, wearing a little vest that she crocheted me. I was always curious about learning to knit and crochet but when it came down to it, I didn't really have the patience or aptitude. But I love seeing the efforts of people who do!

Icklewriter Firebabe ⋅ October 08, 2021

I had an Aunty Ivy. She wasn't my actual Aunty, I'm not even sure if we were in any way related. She might have been my mum's Aunty. Either way, she was bloody lovely, and one of those people who could knit, sew and crochet. She tried to teach me to crochet, but apart from chain, I couldn't get it, so instead, she made me stuff. She made me some hideous ponchos (but at the time, they were very much in vogue) but the BEST thing she did was my rainbow dress. It was made of a glittery yarn that was iridescent, rainbow colour-changing shades, and the entire dress was made of shells (so a bit see-through, had to wear a slip underneath). God, it was gorgeous! I lived in that dress until it practically fell apart, and then I grew out of it, and that was that. I only wish I had kept it - my mum had a nasty habit of giving my stuff away, I think it came from the war years when people did the 'hand-me-down' thing, but she often did it without asking me first, and that dress vanished. I adored it though, and have spent the last several decades wishing I could crochet anything so beautiful. I'm pretty sure I probably could now. I just need a granddaughter to spoil. I think my daughter is working on that currently...

Firebabe Icklewriter ⋅ October 08, 2021

That dress sounds lovely and like just the thing that a little girl would fall in love with and wear until it was just threads. 🥰

Is Hannah in the family way again? I'm glad that she's doing well. She had such a long stretch of (if I might coin the British term) complete wankers that didn't really make her happy. Nice that she's in a better relationship!

Fred October 07, 2021

Wow! I’m impressed. My kids crochet but not like that!

Icklewriter Fred ⋅ October 08, 2021

I have two favourite designers. Janie Crow (of the above blanket) and Helen Shrimpton. Helen's patterns are so beautifully written, I managed to make a blanket just using one of her patterns with no video tutorials. I will dig out the photographs of that blanket, because it's absolutely stunning. I'm currently working on another of hers, and I'll put up the pics of that as I go along. If your kids want something interesting/challenging, send them to crystalsandcrochet.com

noko October 08, 2021

Wow. Love the story of the glittery dress too.

FitLadyDi October 08, 2021

Beautiful!

Sidestreet Sally February 13, 2022

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.