In which Icklewriter gets the WORST haircut ever in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • Oct. 6, 2021, 10:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really should take my own advice and steer clear of hairdressers until I die. The lockdown/pandemic situation just meant my hair grew really long - which was great, because the LAST haircut I had was ridiculous. She nearly scalped me, and I came away nearly in tears and vowed to never go near a hairdresser again, and I kept that up - mostly. But it got very long, and very heavy, and the ends needed a good trim, and I quite fancied having my layers cut back in again, so off I went. The lady was English, so there was no problem with her not understanding me - except, as it turns out, there was.

My hair is curly - wavy-curly really. Thick. Wiry. Quite hard to manage, but it can look great with some solid TLC and lot of difussing. So I generally don’t mind it when a hairdressers says they need to reduce the ‘weight’ a little bit. Go for it is my usual response, because reducing the weight usually means blunt cutting the ends and then adding in layers to soften it. But not this lady. Her way of reducing weight was razoring.

YOU DO NOT RAZOR CURLY HAIR.

Oh my god. My hair is now THIN. It has a ridiculous shape, like someone has stuck a cap on top of my head, flattened my hair for about 3 months and left the rest to blow in the breeze. I have clown hair. The ends are THIN too, and just look like really severe split ends. In fact, I am now going to have to cut at least 2 inches off it to make it look remotely like it has a shape. And there are random sticky-out bits. That’s fairly normal after a haircut, the sticking out, until things settle, but this is not normal at all. People, I cannot concentrate, my hair is so bad. I really wish I could turn back the clock, because she cancelled the appointment, and for about a second, I was disappointed, and then I thought ‘oh well, never mind, I can just trim it myself’ and then she contacted me and said she could do it after all, and like a mug I went, instead of saying ‘no, that’s OK I’ve already cut it now’ or some other lie.

I can’t stick my hair back on. I can’t re-THICKEN it. I have to wait, probably another two years, for the bits she razored out to work their way back again, and that process is going to involve random bulkiness in random places where she cut it right to my fucking SCALP.

I am so livid. I can’t even begin to find the words for how livid I am, frankly.

So this is my official statement, which I request you all hold me to: I AM NEVER GOING TO A HAIRDRESSER AGAIN IN MY FUCKING LIFE.


Last updated August 25, 2022


Deleted user October 06, 2021

You can razor very curly hair if a hairdresser has skills but this sloppy bitch that did your hair obvs. doesn't yeh I just had a color problem with some bitch she "fixed" it and made it worse I went somewhere else got it corrected told the first one she needs to gimme my money she sd no i sd ok well Ill sit here and wait until you figure it out she gave me my money ... then i still dragged her salon on all her socials cuz fuck her

Marg October 07, 2021

Oh that’s so frustrating!

Sapphire October 07, 2021

Eek .....

Firebabe October 07, 2021

And this is why people will jump through hoops to keep going to a hairdresser that they love. I have seriously contemplated driving four hours back home to get my hair done, that's how much I love my old hairdresser.

Icklewriter Firebabe ⋅ October 07, 2021

My hairdresser back in the UK came to my house, cut my hair in no time and only charged me 9 quid to do it. He was an absolute diamond and I would seriously consider flying him over here just to sort out my bonce. I was chatting to a friend in the UK last night who has the same guy and seriously said to her 'please send Steve over here!'...yeah, I stuck with the same hairdresser every time I found a good one. I haven't found a decent one here yet.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.