Moe's b'day in Adventures in paradise

  • Oct. 4, 2021, 11:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another work-week over with and again it was busy as fuck, this time due to the Grand Final being played a few suburbs over. It got moved here due to the Covid outbreaks down south. I saw my sister and her husband checked in at the game, so that was a surprise. I guess her pain was enough for her to be able to attend, but it worried me she was at a potential “super-spreader” event with her immunocompromise. Anyway, I’m trying to think of it as, “Well, at least she’s not letting it control her life and is having fun.”
So I was running around like a headless chook all day, as usual. Had some staff helping me which I was thankful for and I managed to get some of the Halloween Stuff out. One product is ‘Ghost Pong’ which amused me haha. I saw an Asian already had one in her trolley as I finished up.
Anyway, Andrew picked me up after work on Sunday and we went to Portside for fish and chips and the “Joe Bell” movie. We went to the same seafood place that Brande’ and I went to, as Andrew’s favourite place had closed down - it’s just an empty shop now.
I had the barramundi, and they had a grilled option, so I went with that. Omg, it was delish! So good to have fish every so often as I feel I have way too much of the other meat proteins.
I booked the movie from the restaurant, and was surprised to see the tickets were only $6 each! I was expecting to pay like $20 each, so I booked them online just incase the prices in person were full-price. It was even worth the booking fee.
We got to the cinema and Andrew could finally have an alcoholic drink. I’d heard all about his escapades at ‘Wet’ (our gay sauna/bathhouse which I’ve never been to). He’s been going for years, as he has money to waste like that, but says it hasn’t been as good lately. I’ve only ever been to the Asian one in Sydney (yeah Sydney’s popular enough that they can have gay demographic saunas lol, but certainly not here).
I saw they had Reorderlig, which seemed to be the only alcohol I would even consider drinking out of their options, so Andrew paid that for me since I’d gotten the movie.
At first we were the only two in there (I think Covid restrictions are why it was so cheap) but later on four others joined and Andrew had to shut up about his sex life.
The movie is a true story and I thought it was really well acted, and it had a surprise ending which shocked both Andrew and myself. It was good to talk about on the drop-off home.
I’d checked us in on Facebook at the movie, and my sister commented, “The footy is on.”
I commented back, “The what?” (with a kissy face). Your younger brother is gay, girl. I don’t watch that boring shit. Both her and my mother laughed at it.

Yesterday was the public holiday, and I felt a bit weird all day. I felt so overly tired for some reason and I knew I was going to need a nap. It was meant to be a 31 degree day, but it ended up being 37! In October! I saw an update from the BOM saying the ‘Westerlies had beaten the sea-breeze and that’s why it was so damn hot. That may have contributed to my tiredness.
But anyway, I woke up at 6:30pm! I’d drawn my blinds, as I had to due to the western sunlight streaming in and I’d had to close my window too because the wind was so strong, and it was hot, dry, gross wind. So waking up at 6:30pm (when Moe’s birthday dinner was starting at 7pm), I freaked out (as I do) and stressed out about having to get ready so fast and knowing the only possible way I was going to get there on time was by catching an Uber. I threw on clothes (I went with my ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ shirt for Halloween month) and struggled to get my tight-fitting shoes on and I had one on when I noticed a message on my phone from Rhys - “Hey Matty, sorry I didn’t message earlier! Do you need a lift?” - and it had been sent 14 minutes prior. OMG, they hadn’t left yet! I replied straight away and said, “Have you left yet?”
Turns out they were running fashionably late, as gays do haha. So I had time to calm down and think about what to wear more and put my other shoe on, and I went downstairs and a short while later, Luke pulls up in his BMW and I see Rhys waving at me from the passenger side. Awww, these boys! Saved my bacon, and probably a $40 Uber.
OMG, I had the biggest headache though, and I popped two Nurofen praying they’d kick in soon. I think it was probably from the heat and the fact I’d had no fresh air circulating in my room, plus having just awoken and the initial panic of being so late, it all combined together to short-circuit me lol. I was feeling sick on the drive there, but thankfully as we walked into the shopping center and did our Covid check-in’s, I was starting to feel a little better.

We were the only ones in Little Singapore. Which was a surprise, as it’s been packed out every other time! But that was probably due to the fact that four stores on the other end of the center had been listed as Covid-exposure sites earlier in the day. So, that sure as fuck was on my mind.
I had a duck curry and roti and coconut rice, and realised I’d ordered way too much. I knew because of how I was feeling that I’d probably need to avoid their cocktails unfortunately, so I went with a lychee juice, just to try and feel better.
Ben, Moe, Steve, Sasha, Rhys, Luke and I were in attendance. It was a laugh as usual, and it was nice to be able to hear each other more with less of a crowd. There was only the restaurant music playing. Luke had his new engagement ring from Bulgari, so was showing that off. Bloody rich gays. So that explained why they were running late for Moe’s too, as they were engagement ring shopping.
It was so good to see Sasha again, as I only see her once a year at Moe’s events, but we’ve known each other through Moe for so long now that the once-a-year catch-up seems to suffice. She’s just such a lovely girl and I loved her kitty shirt. Moe said they’d had a whole conversation about her top earlier. She asked me during dinner, “Are you still dating that guy?” So that was a bit awkward, but sweet that she remembered me being so excited about Harris this time last year. I told her that no, we weren’t really dating but just hanging out a lot, and Moe made a joke about me “dipping in the very shallow end of the dating pool” which got everybody laughing. It certainly made me laugh, having my friend basically insult me in front of everyone else haha. I told Sasha that I was still into him, but him no so much into me. She said she knew what that was like, and the conversation moved onto her dumping a guy because she never heard from him and he wasn’t giving her enough sex LOL. It always surprises me hearing that girls have sex, since my life is pretty much all gay-world, but I guess that’s what keeps the world spinning, so thanks straights!
I bought Moe an ice-cream, since I had planned to buy him a present earlier in the day, but because I could barely keep my eyes open, that obviously didn’t happen, so I still need to buy him something. I’ll keep my eyes peeled I guess and give it to him at the next get-together. I do need to gym today, as with the social engagement the past two nights, I haven’t had time to, and that’s probably another reason my body’s been kicking my arse.
I went on Grindr but still wasn’t in the right mindset to meet up with anybody. Seems to be a hot Brazilian guy a few street over though, so never know.

Apparently there is a 20-year high-school reunion coming up in Toowoomba next weekend which one of the alumni have organized at a pub there, but I couldn’t think of anything worse than making small talk with people I didn’t talk to back then anyway, and it’s not like my life is very exciting with what I do for a living.


Last updated October 05, 2021


cazoob October 05, 2021

37 in October? Wtf?! It's so cold here!!

Also I googled 'Ghost Pong' lol

kmh. October 05, 2021

“ It always surprises me hearing that girls have sex” Hahahaha omg Matt did you know we also fart?! 😂😂

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ October 06, 2021

What!? You fart too?
Yes I wouldn't have a clue that girls have sex if it wasn't you writing about doing your hubby on the loungeroom floor :P

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.