Double-jabbed in Adventures in paradise

  • Oct. 1, 2021, 2:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m double-vaxxed. Finally. Man, that was an effort. I ended up walking in for my second one. Fuck awaiting another email from QLDHealth. Now that my state finally has enough Pfizer supply, we’ve been encouraged to walk in. I had to go to the RBWH instead of Southbank, as the Southbank vaccine hub said they only do walk-ins on weekends, which doesn’t work out for my work. I’d have to go late Saturday night and risk working through the side effects on the Sunday.
I actually booked online at my doctor’s, only to get a phone call right away telling me they’d run out, bit could book me in tomorrow (Wednesday). Yeah, that wouldn’t work either 🙄
So I walked down to RBWH. It actually took me a while to find where the vaccine hub was. I could only see signs for testing.
Eventually found it. The QR codes wouldn’t work for my scanner for whatever reason so I had to waste time manually flying out two sides of a paper form, but meh, small mercies.
It was pretty quick. I had a South African male nurse this time. I could barely understand what he was saying to me because of his thick accent. I have the same problem with some Asian customers at work. I’ve often wondered if it’s because I’m ignorant or am I racist? Noone else appears to have issue understanding a lot of them, but I sure do lol. I’ve sometimes had to get another staff member to help them as I haven’t been able to, short of them pulling out their translate app on their phone.
Thankfully I didn’t have to do that with this nurse. I answered his questions, got my jab (seems to be such an Australian thing to refer to the vaccine as a “jab” but I’m unsure) and I waited my 15 minutes and was on my way.
I was so nervous about the side effects. It was on my mind the rest of the day. I didn’t think I’d be able to sleep, or that I’d wake up in a fever. I had to next day to recover from any side effects
But I had nothing! Either time. No sore arm, no headache. I was stunned. The only thing I could think of was that I had a quick nap the afternoon of the jab, but that’s not really anything unusual for me as I get older.

Anyway, last night I went over to Andrew’s for dinner. It was meant to be Wednesday night but he cancelled as he was feeling flu-like. I was glad. I always like when things get cancelled as I can do my own thing again. Such an introvert thing!
But Thursday it was back on! He said he was feeling fine again.
I was concerned as there have been three venues listed on the QLDHealth website that are CoVid exposure sites in my work/Andrew’s suburb.
Anyway, I went over, as we have so far avoided another lockdown.
He cooked an Irish corn beef with veggies which was delish.
He is hoping to get back overseas next year to go to some of the F1 races, and wants to take me with. Apparently expenses paid. Because my city is getting the Olympic Games in 11 years time, and he owns three properties, he’s convinced he’ll have so much money he won’t know what to do with it all (must be nice! 😂) and needs to spend.
But hell, if what he’s saying is true, I’m not gonna turn that offer down!
I’m already anxious about being in an F1 crowd with motorhead straight bogans all around me. I’ll definitely be an odd one out, if it happens.
Of course, CoVid pending!
I showed him the final F3 race, as I have ‘Demand’ on my phone. I never really understood the purpose of a reverse-grid, but he explained to me it’s good because whoever’s good enough will make their way back through the field. I never thought of it like that. And the F3 has 30 cars!
We’re going to go see “Joe Bell” on Sunday night, as Monday is a public holiday for both QLD and NSW (who he works for). It’s a shame it’s not an F1 weekend!
The movie looks like it could be okay. He’s picking me up after work and we’re going to the fancy cinemas at Portside. Masks are mandatory in cinemas again (we only had a few days of them off haha) but I’m used to them anyway at work.
Looks like I’ve missed the Queer Screen films which is a shame. I hate that they are so hard to find after a festival period is over, but I’ll try to find the ones I had an interest in again.

Then Monday night is Moe’s birthday dinner. I thought we may have a lockdown yesterday with our 6 local cases but looks like it’s still on. I feel more comfortable with outdoor venues these days I think. I think this is the new norm. And I don’t think I’ll be fully vaxxed until at least another two weeks have passed. And I’m still certainly not immune, either way. I just hope it means it doesn’t kill me and I’ll have to die some other way.
See, this is where the self-help book helped me. Why would I even bother to get vaccinated if I was just gonna off myself anyway? Depression just makes absolutely NO logical sense from an otherwise healthy perspective. But man does it feel real.

I almost wore my skins at gym yesterday 😅 They leave nothing to the imagination. I sent a Snapchat in them to a select few and both Nick and Billy were impressed at my thighs, so that’s nice. I’d share it if I weren’t on my phone haha. I even got a flirty response from Harris, which was a surprise, but I’m not looking too far into it. I haven’t seen him since January, so point letting that get me down. I just smiled at the compliment.

I had a productive day at work, considering we had no management on and were severely understaffed. I’m going to be screwed tomorrow too, but that’s a tomorrow problem.
Anyway, better do some form of working out.


Swanny October 01, 2021

You are so lucky. I am still sick 3 weeks later from my first covid jab. Apparently it lowered my immune system and I caught the flu even though I was vaccinated from the flu back in March. That has now turned into a chest and sinus infection. I am miserable. I asked them what the second jab was going to be like and my doc told me to prepare to be sick :(

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ October 01, 2021

Omg! You poor thing. Three weeks is crazy. I'm amazed how different it is for everyone. I had the flu shot back in March too. I guess just make sure you hydrate well (I did drink more water than usual before and after both jabs) and best of luck for your second X
Feel better soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.