Quick Clarification on The Ambush in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 30, 2021, 10:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you read my entry about my annual review at work yesterday, I have a clarification to make.

Not that it makes any difference how shitty it was, but our company is working with a new automated review system. We’d been doing all of our reviews the antiquated way on paper for as long as I’ve been here (nearly 10 years now!), and this year HR changed to an automated system that generates forms that you have to sign electronically.

So my boss was going out of town today and tomorrow and she had to get a lot of stuff done before she left - obviously getting her staff reviews turned in was one of them.

And I was actually tipped off that I’d possibly get a last-minute review yesterday when right before lunch I got an automated email telling me to go into the online HR system and sign my documents. Obviously, her finishing the reviews triggered an email that she was not expecting to go out. I assume she was planning on doing her staff appraisals when she returned to the office next week.

And at the moment I received the email, I needed to leave to meet my financial advisor for our lunch meeting, so I figured I’d get into all of that after lunch, and by the time I came back from lunch, the review meeting was scheduled with my boss and boss’s boss.

To say I was ambushed is fair, but to say I was completely surprised by what was said and the results of my review is not quite accurate.

If you’ve read me for a long time you know I was not super happy or fulfilled at work. In fact, I was very actively looking for new opportunities when I was knocked down by my cancer diagnosis. At that point, I stopped looking and was grateful that I was able to continue to work in a somewhat limited way during this whole cancer treatment ordeal. I was not operating at 100%. We ALL know that. But I was at least showing up and getting things done.

And of course, Old Boss and I were never on great terms (he never, ever liked me for some reason) and New Boss consulted with him on the review since she’d been promoted and had never worked with me and what I had been doing.

What DID feel really gross yesterday was the fact that I felt like I was being SCOLDED by my new boss’s boss! He opened the conversation by saying that we needed to have “real talk” and blah blah blah…difficult conversations need to take place.

But seriously? Scolding me??? And belittling the fact that my strengths lie in my creative side, but that’s not what this job IS. I was told that I am NOT allowed to even speak of the creative part of my job in my next executive meetings.

Did I get defensive? Absolutely not. It would not have gotten me anywhere. I told them how excited I was about some of the new strategy that I’ve been working on and that there is so much opportunity with this role and yada yada.

But talk about demotivation.

I’m still pretty devastated.

And I don’t know if I can retire right away, but I’ve gotten back to my financial advisor to ask him to start working with me on a cost/benefit analysis.

Thing is, I need health insurance and I am not in a place where I can just quit my job right now.

Lots of thinking to do. Lots of planning.

I’m so tired.
GS


Athena September 30, 2021

there's a whole ring of hell devoted to that guy

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ September 30, 2021

There are several rings in the building.

Deleted user September 30, 2021

As far as I'm concerned, they have violated any concept of "reasonable accommodation" while you were in treatment. This is what drove someone on my staff to just say "fuck it, I'm taking disability for three months while I concentrate on beating this, don't even email me."

bobbi01 September 30, 2021

I really don't get why some companies continue to not play to people's strengths. To me it makes way more sense to have you in a creative role.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ September 30, 2021

Exactly! At one time, I had that role here and then they changed everything and put me on a PIP and then the PIP just magically went away... I never signed anything. They just kept me here. This company is so weird.

Firebabe bobbi01 ⋅ September 30, 2021

Because they have a role and they need a body in it. And if they can get a body that already knows the systems / processes, then they save THEMSELVES a shit-ton of work by not having to interview, hire, and train a new person. Not to mention the money they save. If someone ever told me that their professional philosophy was to never play to your strengths, I'd respond with, "Ah, that explains why you're a manager!"

I mean, I probably wouldn't say that outloud. But man, I'd be thinking it REAL HARD.

Parliament September 30, 2021

Fuck those guys.

Marg October 01, 2021

I hate that you’re under so much pressure with this when you have enough to deal with already.

pandora October 01, 2021

Okay. Okay, we need to think of something. Do you feel like a job change (to somewhere with great health insurance) would work right now, as an inbetween for this awful place and retirement? Or do you have to stick it out for awhile? Because I absolutely despise them for doing this to you. Fucking Corporate North America, man.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ October 01, 2021

Yeah. I think my most immediate thing is to get into another position at a different company. I need the insurance and I need the salary for a while, too. It's just too darn early for me to RETIRE retire, ya know? But we are still working on seeing what my finances can do for a bit.

Bre M October 01, 2021

My dad sold his company and agreed to stay on during the transition. A couple of.months later he was fired out of the blue. He took off a couple of months and decided he was not ready to stop working. So he took another position at a competitor of his old company. He is quite happy. So if you are not ready to stop working take your time and look for other opportunities. Good luck

WhatDreamsMayCome October 04, 2021

May your thinking be clear and your opportunities be golden.

Jinn October 29, 2021

How unfair that review was. I would like to smack both of them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.