Breaking: Surprise Annual Review in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 29, 2021, 4:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Late-breaking news: I just had my annual review as a surprise (!!!) meeting today. It got scheduled this afternoon and the location was my (new-ish) boss’s boss’s office.

Cue the panic attack. You don’t have a sudden review in your boss’s boss’s office unless something is terribly wrong, ya know? And I was trying to play those tricks to look on scheduling calendars to see if HR was going to be in a meeting at the same time!

See where I’m going with this?

But honestly, I was moved into this somewhat different role right as I was starting chemo. I’m not using that as an excuse, but I haven’t been on my game. And my new boss (and former peer) kind of blasted her way into her role, pushing me to do what I thought I was supposed to do. I didn’t even have a job description! Again, not an excuse - I should have asked for one at the get-go.

I realize I never gave her a name for PB purposes. I don’t feel like giving her a name. And don’t get me wrong, she’s a pretty wonderful person and it’s not her fault for my handicaps, but yeah.

Bottom line, weird dynamic since Day 1. Plus CANCER.

Other bottom line, I need “improvement”. Really?

At my core I am a fashion designer and product developer. My role changed to senior brand manager and I keep being pushed into a different space. Boss and Boss’s Boss kept telling me that they don’t want to see me doing the things that I excel in. They TOLD me this!

I get it. That’s the job. It’s the role in which I was placed because they need someone for this role. But I’m not a very good fit for this particular job description.

I needed this job for the medical insurance and it was good to have this as a safety net. Oh, and the salary. But I keep banging my head against the wall with this job.

It’s funny, earlier today I just happened to have a lunch meeting with my financial advisor. Do you know what my FA was talking with me about? ?

RETIREMENT. As in, possibly soon.

We are going to do a cost/benefit analysis. He planted some amazing seeds that I need to think about. He even said that there could be an opportunity for me to retire just for a few years and then come back into the workforce if I wanted.

But the bottom line is that I need to think about doing what I love and the next phase of my life. It may not be full-on retirement, but it damn well better be something I’m passionate about!

The Universe is pushing…

GS


Deleted user September 29, 2021

Did they at least acknowledge that you've been showing up through a very difficult season?

It's really hard to be in a position where you don't feel passion and where your skills don't shine. I was listening to an interview the other day with the author of a book/concept called "Sparketypes" (rhymes with archetypes) about the 10 different types of work that fire people up. (For example, I'm a Maker). Anyway, he suggested we need to stop equating "work" with "job". Rather, work is something which we put effort into, not necessarily for money. All this to say that a retirement may mean you don't get your annual salary anymore, but you sure could still work at something that fires you up!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2021

Oh no. No acknowledgement - that was on Monday.

This was an ambush because we are working with a new review system and my boss accidentally sent out her reviews before she left on a vacation, causing the system to send all of her staff an email asking them to acknowledge and sign their appraisal.

So she then HAD to give reviews before she left!

Also, I am going to look up that book!

bobbi01 September 29, 2021

What a shit move to dump a meeting like that on you with no notice. Time to find something you are passionate about again.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ September 30, 2021

Yep!!

Complicated Disaster September 30, 2021

So that sucks big time! Massive lack of empathy there. Fuckers.
But if your finances allow for possible retirement soon - could you set yourself up as a consultant? Is that a thing in your industry?
xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 30, 2021

Yes, it's a thing...but it's kind of rare. I would have to figure out a niche.

Deleted user Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 30, 2021

Really. It's sociopathic. Karma's gonna get 'em.

Marg September 30, 2021

I feel they’re missing something major here. Like the fact that YOU’VE BEEN WORKING ALL THE WAY THROUGH CANCER AND CHEMO! Jesus! That was so unfair to ambush you like that. I hope you find the strength to decide what to do work wise in the next few years but I wish you didn’t have to think about that right now.

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ September 30, 2021

I wish I didn't have to think about that right now either, but there's really no other time. You never know what's lurking around the corner!

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ September 30, 2021

Well that's very true!

sparklespeterson September 30, 2021

Wow! I think they need improvement in being a human being. I'm sorry. That is crap thing to pull on you.

Ginger Snap sparklespeterson ⋅ September 30, 2021

Super crap! Bluh.

kansasgirl September 30, 2021

So shitty! Like I almost wish you would just take a LOA for Chemo recovery for the shit they just pulled on you. I hope you’re doing ok. I’m glad you have some plans in your back pocket!

Deleted user September 30, 2021

GROSSLY unprofessional on their part. And inhumane.

Soliloquy September 30, 2021

Wtf with the ambush. Perhaps HR might be interested in that?

Didn't they have you on a PIP a few years ago that never got followed up on? I wonder if your new boss saw that and that somehow tainted her view of you so she got super nit picky despite you working through CANCER TREATMENT. Seriously, what are they expecting there? Major assholery going on.

pandora October 01, 2021

Hang on! Hang on! You've dealt with cancer on top of it being a, you know, PANDEMIC, and you got a Needs Improvement?? I'm so grossed out right now. Wow. I hope you can get out of there, sooner rather than later. And the idea of retirement - amazing!

plushcreep October 03, 2021

Stunts like this are what give corporate America a bad name.

WhatDreamsMayCome October 04, 2021

I sense a change is underway.
Best wishes.

Jinn October 29, 2021

It’s this kind of callousness that demotivates people in their jobs. Employers need to do so much better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.