The Thing About Pancakes in Days of My Destiny

  • May 15, 2014, 9:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The thing about pancakes is that... I am the one that loves them.

L was telling his mum what he did for me for Mother's Day... and now she wants him to make her pancakes when she comes to visit this weekend.

It's a bit like...... can you not rain on my parade?

You know what she eats for breakfast?

One slice of toast. Half with jam and half with vegemite. Everyday. Sometimes she might mix it up a bit by having toasted muesli as well.

But pancakes? Never.

I am the Pancake Queen. I am the one who cooks them usually and I'm really good at it. Over the years, L and I have agreed that I am the Pancake Queen and he is the Bacon&Eggs King. Because no matter how much I try, I always fail at getting Bacon&Eggs perfect, just as he always fails in the Pancake department.

So you see, it's OUR thing. For L to have cooked pancakes and got them PERFECT - it was all for ME. Not her. Of course, his mum doesn't know any of this. She doesn't know the history behind the pancakes.

But what annoys me is that she will never allow things to evolve naturally. Did she HAVE TO ask him to make her some? Of course he is her son and she can ask him whatever she wants. But it's annoying, because this happens with EVERYTHING. She can't just listen to a story and go wow, that was nice, what a great husband you are, I'm proud of you, son. With everything, she wants a piece of it too!!!

Like woman, I wouldn't ask YOUR husband to cook me something he'd cooked for YOU!

Anyway... I just feel like..... I was so beautifully spoiled.... and now I have to share that with the mother-in-law.

The fact that my husband made me pancakes and got them perfect - that's beautiful, that's sexy, it makes me want him for even going there! He's cooked pancakes before but they were packet ones, not ones from scratch.

And now I have to share this whole experience with HER, because SHE decides she wants pancakes cooked from scratch too.

He didn't get to spend Mother's Day with her, which I think was a first. She's visiting this weekend and he has his OWN ideas to make things special for her. He's going to cook her one of her favourite meals for dinner, and I'm sure he has other ideas. Why did she have to freaking ask?!??!

Grr.


Deleted user May 16, 2014

OH MY GOODNESS !!!!!!!

I CAN kind of see it from her point of view. But at least ASK a few months down the track, for another visit. !!! Like, have some tact !!!!

colour of water Deleted user ⋅ May 18, 2014

Exactly!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.