My Children Lately in Days of My Destiny

  • May 15, 2014, 4:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Little L has become such a know-it-all lately. It's age appropriate, of course. I remember M reaching this same point. So for example, in the car yesterday she said something about what she would do when we got to our destination, which she thought was Coles. I said, "Yeah but we're not going to Coles today sweetie, we're going to the Crocodile Encounter, remember?" and she goes, "Yeah that's what I meant." Lol. Like as if! Anyway it's funny but can also get tiring because I hear it a LOT!

Her and M have been fighting all week. They have no interest in listening to each other and it's never long before one of them is shouting and one is crying (usually Little L). I'm so over it, hey. They fight on the way to the bus stop in the morning and on the way home from the bus stop in the afternoon. Everyday. Yesterday I was at my wits' end and so when we got home I made Little L go to bed (cos she needed a sleep anyway) and as M is the main instigator most of the time, I made her sit in a boring corner quietly for half an hour so she can see just how boring life would be without a sister at all. I know this is so damn harsh and extreme but as I said I was at my wits' end - and honesty, at least I didn't harm her. Not that it crossed my mind, but I know that about a year and a half ago I would've easily gone there. So it's still a major improvement! I had told her she'd have to sit in a boring corner for an hour - so I'm glad I didn't actually do that!! :-/

Anyway I thought she might've learned her lesson but this morning proves otherwise... the other thing she needs to learn is that ignoring someone is actually hurtful too. Little L will show her things she can do, which to HER are really awesome but to M just are nothing major, and so she won't respond at all. Sometimes she just stares at Little L as if she's the most annoying thing on earth (which she probably is to her at times and I get that) and then just looks away. This morning I told her that not saying anything at all is hurtful and that it's called being a snob (a term she's heard me talk about before). I told her that I know that there are snobs in her classroom but it doesn't mean SHE has to be one. I could tell her in eyes that she doesn't actually want to be a snob. So we'll see how this progresses. I don't expect things to be perfect all the time, after all sibling rivalry is also normal - but the level that it's been at lately is not the normal I want for this household!!!

Anyway.... for my mother's day card that M made me at school, she wrote that she loves me very much "because you make my bed sometimes." LOL. So so funny! I think what she means is because I surprise her sometimes ... it's her job to make her bed and sometimes I make it for her as a surprise. Just so funny to read that, lol.


Deleted user May 16, 2014

Hhahahahahha so funny ! You make my bed sometimes !! Hahahahaha.

Yeah, daily fighting can't be good. I don't remember us fighting on a daily basis. On this topic though, I have nothing to contribute. Lol.

Deleted user May 16, 2014

(Not that a contribution is expected or needed - but you know what I mean. Nothing to say. Nothing to flesh out).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.