Friday night... in Secrets from myself

  • Sept. 27, 2013, 11:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The weekend opens before us. Freedom. Two days. Nice length of time.

I have no plans. I MIGHT go to the city tomorrow. I MIGHT go see Anne Lamott tomorrow night.

I probably will do some domestic stuff. Not too much. I don't want to overdo.

If I go to see Ann Lamott - and if they let me in - I don't have a ticket but she's supposed to be free and she's in a big place and there might be room for people who just show up - I will take stripey notebook and take notes. And I will report back to you.

If I don't go - or if they don't let me in - I might go to a movie. ....... Just looked at the movies. I'm not going to a movie.

Best choice is Prisoners - billed as a drama - has Melissa Leo in it. Wasn't she the exotically-haired detective on Homicide? I liked that show. Once internal affairs or the FBI or somebody sent Edward Herrman to investigate someone - Reed Diamond? remember him? Ok, now I'm really sidetracked. Anyway Herrman was interviewing the detectives separately. They were not being very cooperative. To disarm Melissa Leo's character he told her, he 'loved her hair'.

That's always a favorite line of mine because I went to a garage sale in Winona MN and the guy having the garage sale who I fantasized was a college professor told me, he 'loved my hair'.

Well sometimes life doesn't offer much in the way of compliments. Sometimes you just gotta take what' s offered. And run with it.

I believe that was in the spring of 1990. The blue pickup was new. Maybe 1991.

Happy weekend everybody.

Here's an old old picture.

pond photo DSC00003.jpg

The first picture I ever took of the Eye of God. I"m in it too.


Just Annie September 28, 2013

I've only read one Anne Lamott book - Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith. I enjoyed it, but I don't remember much (any) of it. She's very popular.

Lee Daniels' The Butler was a very good movie and we enjoyed Blue Jasmine, but we are definitely not the movie makers' preferred demographic anymore.

Florentine September 28, 2013

Isn't it funny how some compliments stick with us like that? It's always the ones said by people we don't have relationships with, too. Maybe we find them more honest because they seem truly and freely given.

NorthernSeeker September 28, 2013

Your weekend has possibilities! I haven't been to a movie since the summer.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.