Twenty Years Ago in Thirty-Six

  • Sept. 12, 2021, 6:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On the morning of September 11, 2001, 6:48am, I had just woken up to get ready for another day as a high school sophomore.

I remember ambling into the living room a few minutes later and mom was watching the news. Something had hit one of the towers.

Holy crap! I remember thinking.

I got in the shower. Ten minutes later as I was finishing drying off, I hear my mom say “ANOTHER PLANE HIT THE OTHER TOWER!”

My heart skipped a beat. “WHAT? ANOTHER plane?”. That’s when the gravity of it all started to sink in.

I remember going to school that day. The immense silence of a normally bustling High School was deafening. There was no laughter, some crying being heard, but that day changed us all.

We heard that DC was hit and that another plane had been crashed somewhere else. Then we heard that the towers collapsed. No school work was done that day. I think we were all forever thankful, yet terrified, for being allowed to hear the news as it happened. It wasn’t in our town, but it was still an attack on our country.

The people of New York suffered one of the biggest tragic losses of their lives. Not only the family and friends that were lost through the devastation of the attack, but to lose the sense of security in your own home.

Washington, DC is the home of our country’s leaders. The devastating blow that hit right where it wanted to, showed Americans that we are not invincible.

The crew and passengers of Flight 93, that forced their plane to crash in Pennsylvania, there are no words to describe the bravery that it took to sacrifice yourselves and fight back as best as you could.

It’s been 20 years and as such a pivitol point in all of our lives, something we will absolutely Never Forget.

🎶We’ll always love you, though, New York🎶

Ryan Adams - New York, New York


(Video was shot September 7, 2001)


Last updated November 02, 2021


Squidobarnez September 14, 2021

huggles-o'-squeesh

Foofah September 14, 2021

I was in math class when the principal came into the room and said "we've been bombed." Then our teacher turned on the TV and we watched as the towers fell. It's definitely a day I'll never forget.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.