September's 1st grocery trip in These titles mean nothing.

  • Sept. 1, 2021, 1:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There - I know I had you on tippy toes of expectation.

Well, I went to Fareway, my local store, and I spent $111, and I will write the number on the calendar. Trip was remarkable perhaps as much for what I didn’t buy as for what I did.

  • I didn’t buy myself any pop. A 24 pack was ten fucking dollars and a 12 pack was six. I bought Jim a 24 pack of sugar pop. I still have some pop on hand and there is some at Joana’s so I won’t have to go cold turkey.

  • I did buy 3 thin pizzas because we were totally out. Frozen pizza is kind of a go to food at my house. Jim will fix it. I try to limit myself to ONE piece, though lately it’s been two pieces. I like buying thicker pizzas - Tombstone usually - or DiGourno - but this time NOTHING was on sale.

  • I didn’t buy any chocolate.

  • I did buy Jim three two serving boxes of key lime and chocolate fluff pies. He likes them and they don’t tempt me.

  • Last trip I bought a pint of - get this - 5 gram of carbs in whole container - ice cream. Brand is Rebel and it uses sugar alcohol and natural sweetener that has no impact of blood sugar - according to the label. I saved the box - it’s still on the table and I looked it up and perhaps its claim is valid. I got salt caramel flavor and it was tasty. I ate half of it by spoon from carton the day I bought it and half the next day. I might have gotten more today - they had other tasty sounding flavors - but it’s $4.50 for a pint and I could not pay so much. Jim’s 6 pieces of pies were a total of $7.50. His pop was $10. Well I guess the person I have control of is me.

  • I did buy four peaches. They seemed a little hard so I will let them condition on the counter until tomorrow at least. I need to crack open my yogurt and get rid of it. Sure, Mary.

  • I bought apples - Gala I believe. I looked for little oranges but didn’t seem to see them.

  • I got what seems like a nice bunch of leaf lettuce. Last one was not good and I ended up throwing most of it away the day after I bought it. I don’t like buying packaged, ready to eat salad greens. I looked at them though before deciding to give the leaf lettuce another chance. I’ve got my luscious gift tomatoes and I can make nice salads with some cheese or meat or tuna.

  • I bought cheese as usual. Cheese curds from the local cheese curd purveyor, and some kind of blueberry cheese that captured my impulse weakness, and I think a slab of sharp cheddar. I have Swiss on hand that I need to attend to.

  • I bought 3 lbs of the store’s good ground beef - they grind up yesterday’s left over roasts and steaks. I bought half a dozen bratwursts, and a package of sausages. And a dozen eggs.

  • I bought a pound of walnut halves for me to eat. I bought a package of rye rye crisp. I bought Jim a small container of smooth peanut butter - I eat chunky. He’s been eating peanut butter since he’s been having his teeth done. He gives Gracie her aspirin with peanut butter on a cracker. Gracie will eat either smooth or chunky.

  • I bought a couple sacks of popped popcorn. And a green pepper.

  • I didn’t buy a little carton of Greek olive/feta salad that is really expensive. I’ve bought it a couple times, using it as an ingredient in my green salads.

  • Oh and three boxes of Kellogg’s K, which is Jim’s cereal and we were almost out.

I have bread and milk and potatoes on hand… and other stuff as well.

=================

I took four big bags of cans to the the can place. I am not in the mood to look at my clothes. I’m more likely to do a jig saw puzzle or take a nap.


Just Annie September 01, 2021

Doing a jigsaw or taking a nap sounds like a much better use of your time than cleaning out your clothing.

Marg September 01, 2021

You were a busy bee!

Serin September 01, 2021

I got one of those microwave popping bowls and it's been great because bulk corn is cheap so having a second bowl doesn't make me feel guilty.

The ice cream is intriguing.

I'd vote puzzle, what did you end up picking?

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ September 01, 2021

Daily paper didn't make it - they've started printing it in Des Moines and it comes from Cedar Rapids and we are getting two paper days and no paper days. So I took a nap and read my Chinese girl living with a bisexual guy in London book. Her English is improving but he finds it a burden to have to keep correcting her.

Purple Dawn September 02, 2021

I seem to buy the same things over and over at the grocery store. Maybe I should start looking at other items.

noko September 02, 2021

I had groceries delivered Monday because our Covid numbers are so bad. You never know if you are going to get what you order. She couldn't find the mint tea I like, nor the smoked oysters. But I got everything else. A pretty young woman in tiny shorts and a big mask. She really wanted me to give her a good rating even though the order was an hour late. I have given up soda for now.

Jinn September 07, 2021

I may be weird but I like seeing what other people buy at the grocery store ;-) . It’s so easy to get in a rut buying the same stuff over and over. Looking to see what other people buy helps me get new ideas.

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ September 07, 2021

I agree. I even get nosy about what's in other shopping carts.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.