Can We Have a Reset Please? in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 31, 2021, 6:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Walking on Saturday up a part of a street in a nice neighborhood close in, I realized I had never seen this house before. It is up in the hills so it is a hike up there and we usually turn off this busier street to side streets, so I was glad we stayed the course, and I could see these dramatic espaliered trees. Someday soon I would like to go back and get a better shot.

I am doing fine back in lockdown physically, but emotionally I am struggling with all the difficult news. There are these little indicators, awkwardness’s when say I am teaching or talking to someone that show that I am not exactly okay.

Considering what so many people are going through, this seems a bit self-centered even to say.

Mrs. Sherlock lost her wallet last week and then a few nights later she forgot to lock her car, and someone rifled through it. She texted me yesterday that someone found her wallet, turned it in, and she was thrilled to hear that. It is all an indication that she is distracted and preoccupied just like me.

Kes spent a fair amount of time yesterday looking for her relatively new handy pastry cutter. In the end, after she stopped looking for it, she found it in the refrigerator. It makes sense from a baking technique trick way. But still…

Miss E. has just found an apartment with her boyfriend in New York City a couple of weeks before her 21st birthday. She is transferring to City College from St. John’s in Maryland. She was home in Seattle most of last year, though because all the classes were online.

One of the reasons for my slipping into a world of social anxiety was a foray into full-fledged anxiety Sunday where both cats were sick. They threw up until they couldn’t anymore and then there were multiple messy trips to the litter box. Carlo basically recovered right away, and by the end of the day was eating and playing and demanding attention.

I think because of Diego’s chronic condition, he didn’t do as well. He wouldn’t eat or drink for hours and he was mad at me because it took two attempts to get anti-nausea meds down him. He gave me the back. In all our time together, I have never gotten the back before. It was the worst day both of us have had together.

He’s better. He is curled up next to my hip as I type this. He is eating normally and catching up on fluids on his own. Carlo had some litter box issues again a little this morning but is totally normal in all other respects. What drives me nuts is I don’t know if it is tainted food or a bug they are sharing.

Last time anything even close to this happened, maybe 3 ½ years ago I got rid of all the food I had in the house and bought all new stuff and it turned out after a trip to the vet that it was a bug that they were sharing that they competently recovered from on their own.

We had 40 deaths from Covid over the weekend, mostly in our rural counties. It is bad here. Every day I hope that the masking, closures, vaccines and whatever distancing people are doing (not much if one relies on what one is seeing) will bring the case counts down.

In the meantime, I have given up trying to forecast when it will be safe to teach in person again. Mrs. Sherlock booked a bike trip to Idaho with her bike crew almost a year ago for mid-September. She cancelled this last Monday. They were going to be transported in vans with other folks whose vaccination status would not be verified, and she felt she couldn’t risk it with Mr. Sherlock as vulnerable as he is.

They are going to try for boosters soon.

At least I can get out and walk and hike. Diego is asking for food. Our weather is okay right now. And tomorrow is September! Wow.

Oh, last Friday I went out to get a package and there was an envelope taped to my door. There was a scrawl from Charity saying “Oops, I forgot to give you your keys back.” What the ??? She had shared with me where she keeps her spares and I had given her a set of mine that I now have back.

When did everything get so darn weird and sad and difficult?

Can we have a reset please?


Last updated August 31, 2021


woman in the moon August 31, 2021

Oh my. So many difficulties - all up to death. I mean the covid is just not giving up.
I loved the photo. I'd love to see the whole house from farther back? More of life's demands. Not really a demand, more of a wouldn't it be nice if...
Sorry about the kitties. Hope they are better quickly.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ August 31, 2021 (edited August 31, 2021)

Edited

Thanks. The house has a kind of half moon shaped partition separating the front from the street. I had to step inside of it to get this shot. Oh to have a wide angle lens. :)

Deleted user August 31, 2021

Sending you a gentle hug. Keep looking for beauty. You find so much of it.

Deleted user September 01, 2021

Yes, more pics of those trees! Amazing, like art, especially against that blue!

I took the news apps off my phone a couple days ago. It's all just too much.

mcbee September 01, 2021

I love the look of those trees as well.
I can so relate to all the mixed emotions you are having. So much negative news is overwhelming....I've just been trying to shut it out as much as possible.
The whole Charity thing is very odd. It would bother me too. I am more upset by things unsaid than a lot of things that might make for a difficult conversation but at least give you some kind of closure. So strange!

Marg September 04, 2021

These trees look amazing! It’s pretty serious if a cat gives you The Back :) Very glad they’re both much better now. And what on earth Charity?? Way to rub plenty of salt into the wound!

Jinn September 14, 2021

What is up with Charity ? Very strange .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.