Random in Fresh Start

  • Aug. 28, 2021, 7:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, the kids have met L’s kids a few times. They generally just get along. They have fun. They play and they chat. The age differences aren’t too great between the girls and boys. L and I are getting more serious and we have been talking about how we should progress things in regards to the kids. We’ll we decided to check to see where the kids are as of now and let them know we are interested in eschother. The main reasons is we are seeing the kids get suspicious. In fact her daughter looked at her and said ” Mom, do you like Mr. A? Like, like like him?” To which L responded, yes. We believe it is important to be honest when they ask us a direct question. We talked about it last night and figured it was time to let the kids know that we liked eachothee and was interested in getting to know eachother.

I started with E. I started by asking how she liked her friend. She said they were BFFs. I said what about Ms. L? E said she thought she was absolutely lovely and she was a good cooker and very nice. I told her that I liked her too and would like to talk to her and get to know her better. I asked her how she would feel about that? She smiled so big and said “Absolutely! I planned on her being your girlfriend.” Honestly l, I somewhat expected that type of reaction and not surprised because E always likes to tell random women I am single. Its actually quite embarrassing. I remember her looking at a random woman that was quite attractive and telling her that her mom had broken up with her dad and that he was single and she could be his girlfriend. I thought I was going to die. She’s been trying to set my up for a while. So, needless to say she was accepting of the option that I would be interested in a woman.

I had the same conversation with B. When I told him I like liked L. he just said why? I said what do you mean? He said girls are gross. Lol. I said well, when you get older, you will appreciate girls. They get less gross. I asked how he felt about it and what he thought aboutnit. He said he was OK with it. He said he liked her and he would be ok with me getting to know her more.

She said both of her kids were super excited and they smiled with big grins and said that they liked me. All the times we have gotten the kids together, we were very diligent about not showing any affection where the kids could see it. The reason her kids knew that we were interested in eachother is because they had seen my name pop up in her car when I would text her while driving. I am very aware of the situation and we are both trying to make sure we focus on the feelings of the kids.

L asked me what if the kids said they didn’t like her. I said well, I feel it would be important to ask they why and listen to their reasoning. Maybe they see something I don’t or maybe their perception of something is skewed. Either way it’s important that they are heard and we address how they are feeling because it’s their lives too. They have to be included too. She absolutely agreed. The truth is I’m not completely sure of the best path forward. I know I can see a future with this woman. I know my kids are absolutely important and despite how I feel and what I want, their voice and feelings have to be heard. If they aren’t feeling secure, that has to be my focus. My reasoning for even talking to them.is because I feel they are pretty observant and I think it’s important that they are heard. We will see how things progress and what happens from here.


Last updated August 28, 2021


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.