Being a superhero in Dreams

  • Aug. 28, 2021, 4:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In this dream, I was a kid and my name was Velventina. This was distinctly my name, although i have never heard it before in my life.
I was the middle child, between a younger sister and an older brother. We were all very vivacious, attractive kids, but mostly our relationship was enmity. Our parents were, well, my own mom and dad, and they displayed their usual complete lack of empathy, irresponsibility and narcissistic sadism when dealing with us.
I can’t quite pin down how the dream started, nor what exactly the problems were. But, we were all in a room together and my dad as, of course, berating, belittling and insulting my brother while everyone else sat in silent dismay. Although unspoken, I felt the justified anger of my siblings and also my own. Mom sat in silent self-pity.
And then, I decided that I would use my abilities as a strong, capable martial artist to become a superhero. So I went and made an outfit to hide my identity, and then I spent the next amount of undefined time kicking the ass of bad guys. I don’t remember who the “bad guys” were, and there was a palpable idea that the parents were the bad guys, but that in my dream this semi-conscious idea churned out violent evil enemies that represented each of my parent’s abhorrent attitudes towards us.
I used my body, physical strength, flexibility, acrobatic prowess, and ingenuity to beat back the evil and save both of my siblings over and over again. Until, I was so tired and worn down that I felt that I needed to stop, or at least rest. Neither of my siblings knew it was me who was fighting for them, but they both cheered and celebrated for the victory of the masked hero. At the same time, though, I was subjected to their same vitriol and disdain as Velventina.
Tired, I crawled as the masked hero up into the rafters, thinking that I might watch from there and take a nap. I looked down at my little sister, who was shaking her fist angrily and calling Velventina names, and I felt utterly defeated. I thought, no matter how much I strive and try, no amount of protection will make her love me.
In the rafters, I heard a soft voice, and looked over with shock to see my older brother. He tried to look reassuring but I still felt scared of him. “She probably will never accept what you do for us… Velventina.” he said gently.
And, my heart soared, because my brother knew what I had done. I ran to him and hugged him, feeling so grateful that my heart could explode. Finally, I lay down and went to sleep, so tired that I couldn’t even say a word.
“It’s okay,” he said, “you rest now.”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.