Here's to finding your new best friend on the internet in Suggestion Box

  • Sept. 26, 2013, 6:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've seen a couple of people mention that Prosebox is not very appealing because they can't find their old friends, and despite efforts to find new people and leave comments, nobody is really commenting on their entries. And so, in an attempt to help bring the community closer together and help friendships blossom, I'd like to throw out some ideas (either of my own or things others have mentioned in the suggestion box) that could improve the ability to discover your next soul sister (or brother) here on Prosebox:

  • The Random button - ability to be taken to a random Public/Members Only entry written within the past week or so
  • Paging back through Recent Entries (currently you're limited to the latest 25)
  • Ability to cross off the Recent Entries list someone you are not interested in
  • Ability to tag entries and search on common interests
  • Ability to see who has bookmarked you. How do people feel about public bookmarks vs private bookmarks?
  • Bookmarks suggestions, based on Friends of your Friends.

Any other ideas? Things on my list you really like or dislike? Please do share. :)

UPDATE: It sounds like a lot of people like their bookmarks private, which I'm on board with. I like it too. However, it sounds like the general consensus is that there's no reason for people to not know they are friends of someone else.


Comments are closed.
delete please September 26, 2013

Like the random button

Lepetit pumpkinesque September 26, 2013

I super like the bookmarks suggestion!

Also- this is not related (don't shoot me) BUT the other day I left a random note for a random person (not bookmarked or friended) and then I wanted to go back to their diary to check something out but couldn't remember their name. I had no way of finding them! On OD we had the ability to see what notes we had left other people, is that something you think you will ever have here?

simple mind Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ September 26, 2013

Ah yes, that's one of those things that I thought about and then all the other things distracted me from it. Really wouldn't be that hard actually. That might be the next significant thing I add since it wouldn't take long.

Lepetit pumpkinesque simple mind ⋅ September 26, 2013

That would be awesome! I would give you a super sparkly unicorn rainbow poop hug. (Doesn't that sound nice?)

simple mind Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ September 26, 2013

That's probably the first time I've seen the words poop and hug right next to each other. Makes me all warm and fuzzy. ;)

Daydream Believer simple mind ⋅ September 26, 2013

I agree! Yes please!!

Silverstar46 simple mind ⋅ September 27, 2013

That would be so awesome because I've done that before too! Thankfully, it was back when PB didn't have a couple thousand users and the person posted again and I was like WOO! THAT'S HER! haha

Deleted user September 26, 2013

The random button sounds nice. Maybe bookmarks suggestions... that sounds very facebooky. But it could work... like hey this person is someone that so and so reads and you might be interested. I don't know though it could work.

Searching on common interests could work.

I personally don't have any issue ...

Sometimes when I see an entry on the front.. I'll manually page through and see if I find the person interesting or not and manually go through their entries.

I guess an who has whom bookmarked could work. But at the same time... I don't know. It's very OD-ish. I don't mind not knowing who has me bookmarked or vice versa. But I do like the suggestion idea.

Princess Buttercup September 26, 2013

I like the ability to see who has me bookmarked, but I also like the idea of having the option for having private bookmarks. either as a whole or mark certain ones individual.

Deleted user September 26, 2013

i can't say i'd use those options, because i never really have. but they all sound good. to be honest, i think that the general feel of the website isn't as 'personal', so people aren't writing on a personal level, or seeking new personal connections necessarily. i get the feeling that people are moving away from diary-keeping in general. so people are sticking to the actual skill of writing [great] pieces. it's almost like people are either connecting with old readers, or finding new 'fans'. [rather than friends]. that's the way it seems to me. i can't tell if it's just the way things are going - in cyber society - or if it's the new environment of prosebox. being neat and clean and white and all.

Leslie Bruce Deleted user ⋅ September 27, 2013

I would agree with this.

Deleted user September 26, 2013

I don't want to see who has bookmarked me. I don't want others to see that I've bookmarked them. But I wouldn't mind that behavior at the "Friends" level.

Other than that, all of these sound fabulous. I really like the ability to cross authors off the Recent Entries list, and the tag and search option.

Nash September 27, 2013

Would really like to see who has bookmarked me and who has friended me, but this should be users option. I don't necessarily want people to know if I have bookmarked them if I want to lurk. I think a search by interest and age option would be nice too. Someone will likely throw something at me for saying this, but I always liked Readers Choice over at OD. I would really like to have the ability to delete comments or make them private.

I think people will start finding more of their friends when the friends actually start posting in the lifeboat PB profiles they have created. We must have hundreds of empty profiles on PB.

Crystal September 27, 2013

I LOVE the Random button on OD so I'm all game for this. :) And I also like the Bookmarks Suggestions deal. I think that would be awesome.

Daydream Believer September 27, 2013

I like all of the suggestions, especially being able to page back through Recent Entries. I'm usually on around the same time every day and it seems like I see the same people in the Recent Entries most days.

Bookmark suggestions also sounds like a great idea, along with the random button. I actually found one of my favorites that way on OD and followed their recommendation to check out PB, much to my delight! :)

I'm ok with public bookmarks or a "Bookmarked By" list, but I definitely think it should be optional as I tend to bookmark someone if I catch a random entry that interests me and then read a few entries to see if I want to keep up with them. It's about 50/50 on those that I keep long term. I'd hate for one of those that I stopped reading to know about it.

Crystal October 03, 2013

I was thinking about my favorite features of my personal blog (up on the WWW and not PB or OD) and my favorite feature has got to be scheduling posts. Like, I'm currently thinking of writing an entry to post on my birthday which isn't until the end of the month. On my blog, I could schedule it to not go live until whatever day I specify. I think that would be a cool feature to have.

Crystal October 03, 2013

I was thinking about my favorite features of my personal blog (up on the WWW and not PB or OD) and my favorite feature has got to be scheduling posts. Like, I'm currently thinking of writing an entry to post on my birthday which isn't until the end of the month. On my blog, I could schedule it to not go live until whatever day I specify. I think that would be a cool feature to have.

The Anonymous Mother October 04, 2013

We need a option to delete comments people left on our box or be able to delete/edit our comments we leave people. I use mobile so I don't see that option on here.

cricket_factor October 06, 2013

Will you be able to group Bookmarks by author? The time stamp feature is cool, but it would make it easier for ME if everything that anyone of my favorites wrote was grouped together instead of spread over a page with other writers. I keep feeling I'm missing entries from some of my more prolific writing friends. The Bookmark page looks a bit confusing for me now - or am I alone on this? THANK YOU for reading...

Deleted user cricket_factor ⋅ October 12, 2013

i have to admit i feel the same way. some people write on a continual basis throughout their day, and these peoples' entries take up the whole bookmarks page. where, i'd really like to keep up to date with some specific writers - so i find myself going to my favourites list, and clicking on their proseboxes from there.

Deleted user October 06, 2013

Yes! I think the first few would be great features that add much value. In lieu of "bookmarked by", though, you could just give a count of the number of people who have bookedmarked you, just as a rough guage of interest. In a similar vein, in lieu of sitemeter scripting, which I can see could be considered to invade privacy, it would be nice to see how many hits or visitors each entry has got, again as a guide to what readers are interested in.

Deleted user October 06, 2013

PS to my previous note: hit count should exclude hits from self.

Deleted user October 06, 2013

Very Minor point: do the Latest Entries and new Users titles on the main page need to be so large? I get the impression that I'm reading Readers Digest large print edition. Smaller font could allow a few more.

Her October 11, 2013

Is there a way to hide one single entry from the public? (I would like some of my entries to be only read by me--not the world)

Deleted user Her ⋅ October 12, 2013

i've actually created a prosebox titled 'just me', for those kinds of entries.

Deleted user October 12, 2013

hi, new suggestion: is there a possibility of ever seeing a writer's full list of entries, regardless of prose boxes in which they've placed their writings? i have some really favourite writers that i like to keep in touch with, no matter where they've placed their writings. one of these writers is my sister, who lives far away, and i like to keep in touch with her writings as though they were letters written to me. we do this with each other. i'd like to be able to just see the list of her writings in chronological order, and read them in order. what do you think? maybe we could all have a default box titled 'all entries' or something ?? i guess that might complicate things where some entries are friends-only and others are not.... hmmmm..... food for thought?

Naiad October 14, 2013

I was just coming here to suggest searchable tags, so I'll just give it a hearty "hear, hear!" and quietly move on. :)

Broclone October 22, 2013

Okay, not sure if you guys are thinking of doing this but on Livejournal you could search up people based on intrests and by name or whatever. You can even look them up by e-mail I think? Anyway, my point is:

Is there a way to implement a search system that allows us to use our interests, email, name or username to look up people? Interests would help a lot!! I could find other geeks who are into the same shows and we can talk from there.

Just an idea and I would love if it came true. lol Thanks!!

simple mind Broclone ⋅ October 22, 2013

Yeah, searching is definitely something I want to improve and add on. I would like to add tagging to entries, as well as a general search that can find anything (well, anything that's Public or Members Only).

Broclone October 22, 2013

After thought: is there an edit button for entries? I think you can delete but not edit? Not sure since I use the site primarily on a tablet.

simple mind Broclone ⋅ October 22, 2013

Yep, you can edit and delete entries. Both buttons should should show up, even if you're on a tablet.

EarthquakesCry October 23, 2013

Hi! I'm not sure if these are available, as I'm new to the site and might not have used my eyes properly, but if they're not, these are my suggestions:

  • The ability to download your Prosebox.
  • The ability to edit the privacy of individual entries: to make them public/members only/friends only/private, and to be able to change these settlings further down the line.

Thank you for listening :)

Sublimejen October 30, 2013

a "like" button or heart button like on Instagram where you can like a post even if you do not have a comment. also, do you now or will you soon have the feature available so we can download our books to our harddrive?

Comments are closed.