Dreams in Many things

  • Aug. 10, 2021, 1:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been having these dreams about my cat who passed away on July 23. At first, I didn’t dream about her at all. Then, last week on Monday I… Its difficult to describe. I dreamt about her, only very briefly. My dreams are normally vivid and well detailed where I can recall everything that happened. These were vague, distant glimpses of… I guess of what it felt like having her around. When I woke up that day I got the call that her ashes were ready to be picked up. I didn’t go, and I kept pushing it back to the next day and the next day. And I’ve been having these same dreams consistently.

Last Sunday my brother brought her ashes. I don’t know what or how to feel about it or what to do with it. I haven’t opened the packaging. It sits in my wardrobe along with a few of her belongings.

Today I woke up from a different dream. I remember she was running towards me and she jumped. I remember hugging her close to my chest. I remember telling her how much I missed her. And for a brief moment I felt my dog standing to the right of me. Even though I didn’t see him there, I felt his presence, the way that only dreams can show you. And then, I must have realized that this was a dream or maybe I woke up for a moment because I remembered that I lost them, and I remembered all the hurt that comes with it.

I feel guilty for leaving her ashes inside of the wardrobe, hidden away. She always wanted to be free. I loved that she chose to stay by me.

alt text


Last updated August 10, 2021


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.