Only hope in Stuff

  • Aug. 8, 2021, 11:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mother-dearest has cancelled dad’s 70th birthday celebration. Lockdown is over here again (for now) but we still have restrictions for two weeks. Masks I am used to now, but an added restriction this time is to “reconsider leaving the previously locked-down LGA’s for 2 weeks” - two weeks in the 22nd, and the party was organized for the 21st, so yeah, missed it by a day. A bunch of the grandkids also live in my city, so wouldn’t be able to make it either, legally anyway. I think my older brother is still going, which would be a risk for him if he gets caught, but I’m not surprised as both of my brother’s have always been idiots IMO.
Anyway, lockdown’s over, so it means gym is reopen, which I’m thankful about. I’m heading back shortly. There is still an outbreak in the north of the state in Cairns where a taxi driver was working for 10 days (infectious for 4 apparently) driving people around, so that doesn’t sound good at all - people being stuck with a positive case in a taxi with all the windows probably up, but it’s a wait and see. He got it from the marine pilot. They are in a Snap lockdown until all people are contact traced.

In other Covid-related news this morning, my city is finally getting a mass vaccination hub that opens on Wednesday, AND the eligibility criteria has been extended to include my age group. Thank the fucking Lord for that. Now the only issue is waiting for QLD Health to contact me, which is a nightmare in itself LOL. I’ve only been waiting for what feels like 2 months so far, and some people or forums say they’ve been waiting since MARCH. I can only hope supply actually increases like they’ve said it’s going to and that I can finally get on the other side of all this shit. I’ve been hoping and hoping that I get an email from them when I check each day, but the only one I’ve gotten was a “we haven’t forgotten about you” one due to the supply issues. Once supply comes in, they are prioritizing people aged 40 and downwards.
As I’m 37, I may still be waiting a while.
For those playing along at home, our unless Prime Minister (Scott Morrison, or Scumo as I like to call him) had 40 million doses ordered back in the day and fucking CANCELLED them, screwing the entire country in the process. Now that Sydney is in trouble with their numbers (thankfully somewhat stagnating as of today), they are getting priority dosages. It’s been a fun game. Not.

Ergh. My anxiety and mental health has really been shot lately. And I’ve been having FULL-ON dreams that I never usually have. Like, I can only put it down to having had eaten certain meat-protein meals on the previous nights as to what would be bringing on these dreams, but if I could actually remember them, could bring in millions of dollars at the box office LOL. Like I can’t even think of a movie or book I’ve encountered that involves what my brain has decided to come up with during my slumber.
Like I woke up one morning like two days ago and it took me a few hours to feel normal again and remember where the hell I was. It wasn’t really a nightmare but it was just full-on, you know? I honestly couldn’t say what it was about now. Glad I had work to distract me.
Which has been busy as FUCK! Like, holy shit busy. Our store was up around $250k on usual trade for the week. During the initial panic-buying, we were up nearly $400k, so it’s obvious people aren’t just buying what they absolutely need. I’m glad lockdown is over again because it means people might actually fuck off elsewhere for once and not use the supermarket as a lame legal excuse to leave the god-damn house. We can’t travel outside of the LGA’s, but we can still travel within them, and everything is trading again. You know, unless someone who was in the Cairns cab driver’s vehicle has travelled on to my city - then we’re probably fucked again. At least I’ve gotten used to wearing masks well and truly now.

Anyway, I’m feeling a bit weird and up-in-the-air about not securing an appointment. I think I will feel better once that’s finally sorted, and I can feel better about doing my bit to help life get back to some sense of normality. The anti-vaxxers on my Facebook are just so draining and depressing to me. Fine, we get it, you don’t want the government-tracking, unsafe jab. Don’t get it, be part of the 20%. I want to be part of the 80%. As if I didn’t find vegans, JW’s and crossfitter’s annoying enough with their throat-pushing.
Listening to the Sydney Covid doctor on the NSW press conference this morning talking about how some unlucky Covid+ people are in the ICU for up to 5 weeks on ventilators was so depressing. He says normally people with other conditions are in the ICU for 3-4 days. NSW had one more death overnight - another 6 earlier in the week, including a healthy 20yo male. He stressed that getting the jab can prevent not just death, but even ending up in the ICU. His eyes said it all to me. The shit he must have seen just doing his job. I can’t even imagine what the overseas doctors have seen. Ergh.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.