DIXIE AND TOWER 4 in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 8, 2021, 11:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

This shot came out very light with all the details blurred by the sunlight. Dixie died soon after this visit, and I am just glad to have the photograph. Just glad too that she recognized me that day.

The first thing I did today was break the toilet seat. That was certainly not a dull moment. George was off to our local repair store, Dixieline, by nine. No Home Depot for him today as he likes supporting local shops if he can. With his much improved hand, he was able to replace the seat with an all wood one with metal hinges in just a few minutes.

alt text

I think we will make up a fancy, 1950’s style, chicken salad and go off to the bay or the beach for dinner. We ate giant burritos by Mission Bay for lunch yesterday. There was a gathering of crowds along the water’s edge and passing boats to watch. I managed to get lunch all down my front, and over the car too. When I got home, I showered first then ran all my clothes through the washing machine. The jacket is stained, so one of my chores today is to bleach to hot salsa out of it. I can’t believe how bad I was. George, of course, didn’t get a drop of anything on him.


  • Himself: Toilet seat, space game, lunch, more games, dinner in the sunshine.
  • Myself: Ditto, and all with a book in hand and my best Hilo Hattie MuMu on.
  • Reading: Bujold.
  • Watching: We found channel 784 by a random choice. It had Olympic summaries.
  • Photo: Top: Dixie Anna and I in Portland OR. Bottom: The lifeguard towers lined up in a corner for the winter. I used to bake my hangovers out at tower 4.

  • Weather: Chill and thin sunshine mixed with fog right now. I can see the edge of the fog from here.

  • Gratitude’s: Every night that I sleep well.
  • -

Last updated August 08, 2021


Sabrina-Belle August 08, 2021

That's a lovely photo.

Marg August 09, 2021

It’s actually a lovely photo of you and Dixie with all the light - and you look so like each other in it! :)

gattaca August 09, 2021

I'm curious as to what a "1950’s style, chicken salad" is. :-)
Chicken salad is one of my comfort foods.

You have a good eye for black & white photography.

MageB gattaca ⋅ August 09, 2021

Remember the salad placed on shredded lettuce with deviled eggs, pickles, olives, tomatoe wedges, and avocado halfs.

NorthernSeeker August 10, 2021

I thought you were going to be writing about the Dixie Fire in California. Terrific photos again today. I always swear I'll take a bathroom towel everywhere and tuck it in at the neck when I'm eating.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.