Melbourne Part 5 in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

  • June 13, 2005, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Melbourne - Part 5 - 6/13/2005

I didn't really do as much today, as I feel like I've almost done everything I've wanted to do.  I mean I would like to go to the zoo, but I can do that back in Brisbane!  I know tomorrow will be spent shopping, for souveniors for my friends and also an el cheapo alarm clock so that I wake up on time to get to the airport.  I'm thinking I'll ask reception if they do wake up calls as well.  Luke's like, 'why don't you use your mobile?' and I tell him, 'cos it doesn't have an alarm function." - Wish it did, but then again a phone is called a phone for a reason!

Someone's sculled some of my pepsi-max that I put in the fridge a few days ago, but I don't care, as long as they havent drugged it lol.

Today was spent exploring.  I only really have been home once today until now, and that was to grab my jacket, as it was getting a little chilly.  I walked around the suburb of Carlton a lot today.  Interesting suburb - with a lot happening.  It's the place the beer originated from for all you aussies out there.  Few nice restaurants up there.  On my walk back I found another Safeway (where I demolished two punnets of discounted strawberries), and a Borders!  I walked around Borders for ages I swear, except there were too many people in the 'men's interest' magazine section, so I felt a little intimidated and self-conscious skimming through the imported-yet-intruiging gay magazines.  Most people didn't seem to care though, it's a very gay-friendly city this Melbourne is.  There was an obvious gay guy working there, looked about 19 or 20.  On my way back I walked back to the Fitzroy Gardens, where I took lotsa photo's of beautiful water fountains, birds and buildings.  i also went to the Imax theatre and saw 'Animal Safari', which I knew was mainly for kids but I just wanted to see how big the screen really was - really i did!...  It's suppose to be the biggest in the world.  It looks about the same size as Brisbane's Imax, so maybe they just mean Imax in general.  It was nearly 3 times the price for a ticket though compared to Brissy where you can get in for like $5.50.  It was good though.  Silly me bought a large popcorn and Coke before I went in, so the whole time I was hurridly sculling down popcorn and coke because I knew Imax movies weren't as long as regular movies.  I think I had about a quarter of a bag left when the film ended, which I left on the floor - I took the coke with me.  After that I went into the city, but as the wind was picking up, I came home to get my jacket.  I thought I'd checkout the rooftop since I hadnt yet.  There was some guy smoking away.  Backpackers can be such grots.  Hey I just thought of a cool name for a gay bar - "Backpackers!" - no, that's just wrong isn't it?  Gee I love making fun of myself haha.

I went to Prahran again tonight with the intention of going to that gay bar, but upon arrival I realised I'd left my ID at home!  Dammit!!  Oh well, I went and had a delicious 'American' pizza at one of the shops on Commercial Rd - definitely recommend.  It was funny cos I was sitting in there with like 4 other gay guys, each waiting for their orders.  Well 2 of them were definites cos one wailed in protest when the pizza dude went to put sauce on his pizza.  Haha gotta love gay guys.

So yeah, took lots of photos, explored a new suburb and didn't do much else.  I'm looking forward to going home to my boi and my life.  Only 1 day to go!  Think I might go see another movie maybe.

I jut got back from the movies.  A guy asked me if I wanted to buy some 'Wizz' - once there, and once again on the way back.  I politely refused.  Nice druggo - but selling drugs where there are city-safe cameras?  Hmmm.

I saw "The Wedding Date" - it was crap to start with, but by the end I was near in tears :)

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

i loved that movie!:P [dysfunctional_faerie] 6/16/2005 7:46:22 AM

ok does your mobile have a schedule function? Because that's what I always did for an alarm - there's not an alarm clock made that can actually wake me up, so if I know I need to be up, I schedule an event on my mobile and sleep with it next to my ear. I think home for me was in Carlton when I was there - the address says Parkville, but the map said Carlton. (I was at Melbourne Uni, btw). tbc... 6/16/2005 3:49:51 PM

... okay what exactly is an "american" pizza? Because I always thought they were italian, and we've got all sorts over here. I remember one club some friends and I tried to go to, but we couldn't get in even with our ID's because we didn't have our passports and weren't Australians. now if you ask me, that's just stupid for clubs to expect tourists to carry around their passports. We found another 6/16/2005 3:51:34 PM

place to go, so it all worked out. Anyways, I think this is enough notes for one entry :p so i'm off to read part 6.

♥ [~Tiffany~] 6/16/2005 3:52:37 PM


Last updated May 11, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.