Melbourne Part 4 in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

  • June 12, 2005, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Melbourne - Part 4 - 6/12/2005

Ah! I think someone just tried to unlock the door to my room!  I heard the key go in, but it obviously wouldn't unlock and they tried the next room.  They sound Japanese.  I hear all the "Ooh's" and "Ahh's", so I think I have new neighbours!  I only hope they don't make too much noise, although I've only got 3 more nights here.  I just went and saw "Million Dollar Baby".  I'd heard all the hype about it, and it was about to start when I got to the cinema, so I thought, 'why not?'  It was really sad! Somewhat predictable toward the end, but sad!!  It's put me in a saddened/scared mood for the night.  The plan was to see a movie, then go to the gay suburb of Prahran to go clubbing.  I went there today and checked out the suburb by daylight and took lots of pictures.  I always feel weird taking pictures - like I don't want people knowing I'm a tourist haha.  But tomorrow is the Queen's Birthday holiday, and that usually means it's a huge clubbing night, and I'm actually still considering it as I write this, as it's only 9:45pm - but I know that trams stop earlier tonight and I don't wanna get stuck there.  Hmm I dunno, the movie was really touching and if Luke was here, I would so be clubbing - someone to dirty-dance with yeah!

Luke called me yesterday!  It was so hard to hear him because I was walking through the city.  He and his dad went down to Albury/Wadonga, which are towns right next to each other on the NSW/VIC border.  He said he was only about 3 hours away from Melbourne!  How weird is that!  We were both in the same state.  He's home now I believe, well I hope he is!  I'm really missing him!  Awww, he just sent me love messages!!

Gosh I did HEAPS today.  Like I said, I went to Prahran.  It is a nice suburb with lots of shops, bars and nightclubs!  It amazes me that the bars and clubs along Commercial Rd nearly all have rainbow flags on their windows and doors.  I guess that's why it's called the gay strip.  I even saw a car with a rainbow sticker stuck to the rear window.  I mgiht do that when I get home.  Hehe I know Luke'll probably protest :)

Awwwww, we're sending 'I love you" messages back and forth - this is much better than some smokey club haha.  Oh where was i?  Oh yeah Prahran - so many gay guys, all walking the streets.  Well at least I think they were, my gaydar was going right off!

I went to the Melbourne Aquarium today!  $23 to get in, but I figured I'm on holidays, money shouldn't matter.  I took a lot of photos in there too!  Took so many photos of random things today.  Oh and I walked a lot of the way back from Prahran, and stopped at the shrine of rememberance, which is a MASSIVE monument erected (haha) in honour of those who served in World War I and II.  Took photos of that.  I was afraid my camera batteries were gunna run out cos it kept flashing red at me when i was in the aquarium.  And they had this awesome simulator ride!  It had absolutely nothing to do with the aquarium, but gee it was fun anyway!!

Gosh I had a good day.  I saw the gay suburb, the embassey hotel, the market hotel, the shrine of rememberance, Prahran Safeway, Southbank Boulevard, Melbourne Aquarium and a movie - Million Dollar Baby!  I can now see why it won awards, especially Clint Eastwood!

I just spoke to Luke for almost an hour on my mobile.  Gee that's gunna be a harsh sting when I get my phone bill haha - i jsut had to hear his voice though, and I told him he's worth every cent.  I wish I had a relative or friend here in Melbourne because it's now too late to go out.  Don't think I wanted to go out alone anyway.  Let's see what tomorrow brings.  Being a public holiday I'm not expecting much to be open in the way of retail.  Two days to go!  I told Luke I think I'm getting a little homesick, cos he was telling me how good it is to be home in our own bed.  He says he's been hugging my bunny I gave him heaps every day.  Gosh i care for him so much.  I wonder how all those queens are clubbing atm... at least I know I'm safe here...

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

This is so cool, I know where everything is that you're talking about. Except for all the gay stuff, obviously. I went to Albury/Wodonga last year too. It was cold...much like the rest of Victoria. [frangipani] 6/15/2005 8:44:17 AM

Omg...how do you do it?! Being away from your man for so long. I would die. When I was seeing this one guy last year I hated being away from him...until the end obviously, hence the breakup and such things...but that's besides the point! That's so cute you were sending I love you messages back and forth. Hope you're having fun! Hugs,

-Chris [Ethereal Remains] 6/15/2005 2:18:09 PM

the more I read, the more "homesick" I get. If you want any melbourne pictures you didn't get to take, try www.snapfish.com and login with email alyssathegelfin@yahoo.com and password eastercamp - I seriously took 8 rolls of pictures in my first week, and they're online at that page on my Melbourne Photos alblum. :) We got stuck after the trams stopped running once - it's always good to know ... 6/16/2005 3:35:15 PM

... what time they stop. Glad to hear that you got to talk to Luke. :) ♥

[~Tiffany~] 6/16/2005 3:37:18 PM

Seems youve done more in melb in 4 days, then ive done in 21 years!! Ive never been to the shrine of rememberance!! [emmal0uise] 6/21/2010 1:02:41 AM


Last updated May 11, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.