Melbourne Part 2 in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

  • June 9, 2005, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Melbourne - Part 2 - 6/10/2005

Oh what a wonderful sleep!  I went to bed ridiculously early last night (around about 7pm) 1: because I was bored only because I didn't know my way around Melbourne city in the dark and 2: because I was completely fucked - like seriously, I had walked to the train station, Yuie picked me up, dropped me at the airport, I wandered around for 2 and a hlaf hours, boarded a plane, talked to a 13 y.o chick (yeah i couldn't beleive it either, she seemed so much more mature) on the plane, arrived at Avalon Airport, bought a bus ticket, caught the bus to here (hour trip), wandered around Melbourne city with what daylight was left, did some grocery shopping, somehow found my way back here, and I was damn exhausted.  Anyway I had the best sleep ever I swear.  I went to bed cuddling my teddy that Luke gave me, and I woke up the next morning feeling SO good (being today I mean hehe) - I got my times mixed up because, would you believe that last entry I wrote only 30 minutes ago?  Yeah I was trying to trick you into thinking I had written  it on the day but no haha, it was hard trying to think of everything I did yesterday!

When I arrived yesterday, a lady who works here was on my floor (level 4), and happily showed me to where my room was.  As she was leaving, she said, "Just ignore the note under the door, it's not for you."  Of course I had to read it and this is what it says:

"Dear Guests,

We are all living in a "Community" and we definitely appreciate some level of consideration where the usage of toilets are concerned.  if HYGIENE doesn't ring a bell, it shall soon enough.  Please be informed you are being monitored on the security cameras.  We know who the culprits are and we choose not to embarrass you at this juncture.  Do not be mistaken, we will throw you out should we catch you in the act again.  Today, toilets on the 3rd and 4th levels have been clogged with faeces and urine and toilet paper was deliberately pushed into the toilet bowl to make it overflow.  Perhaps you enjoy living in these conditions but our other respectable residents DO NOT!  GROW UP AND BAHAVE LIKE ADULTS OR WE WILL BE FORCED TO TREAT YOU LIKE JUVENILE DELINQUENTS.  - The Management"

Hehe someone's not happy Jan!  I actually find it gross but funny cos there's no way they'd have cameras in the toilets, and it seems EVERYONE got a note under their door from what I can see, so they obviously have NO idea who the culprits actually are.

I explored SO much today - well at least I felt I did - I familiarised myself with some of the sights of Melbourne - totally by foot!  Today I saw many shops, cafes, nightclubs, trains, buses, ferries and Trams!  Trams are something I've never seen in person before I came here!  of course I knew what they were, but seeing trams going up and down the central and outter streets of the city is amazing!  I mean, here cars have to veer left from the left-hand lane just to make a right turn - I've never seen that anywhere before.  How cool!  I got so excited when i saw the big sign reading "Rod Laver Arena" in the distance, so I jsut had to go there!  I did and I still can't believe I was standing so close to where so many famous tennis players were!  And Vodaphone Arena was next to it, and right across the road was 'Olympic Park - where the 2006 Commonwealth Games will be held!  I took so many photos and walked so much today.  My ankles are really hurting!  I bought some water and pepsi max, took it back home, then took off again, and caught my first ever Tram!  It was the free city circle one, and I learnt a lot from the commentary.  I'll probably catch a 'paying' tram tomorrow on my adventures.  I figured I'd walk all day today and tram/train all day tomorrow!  See where I end up.

I'm still worried about getting back to the airport next Wednesday by 9:05am, but am trying not to let it get to me.  If worse comes to worse I guess I'll pay the $80 taxi fare to get there on time - geesh.  I decided to play the Victorian Lotto today - I won $5! hehe.

I just got back from the movies - figured I'd 'do something' (sings Britney hehe) with my night.  I saw "A Lot Like Love!"  It was awesome!  Definitely my type of movie and it made me miss Luke heaps more and remember how much I care for him.  I hope I get to talk to him tomorrow!  It started raining tonight.  I'm not gunna let it get to me.  Love you guys!  Take care!

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I'm writing a story... I would appreciate it if you have any comments on anything that you think it needs help with? Thanks. [thestorygirl] 6/15/2005 4:21:17 AM

Tram's are cool. I took a photo of one when I was there last year. Whenever we went on one we didn't pay. [frangipani] 6/15/2005 8:33:42 AM

So I'm really impressed that you took the initiative to come to a completely unknown city and just explore. I don't think I could do it. I would get so lost. And then walking the city on foot...you are hardcore! Haha...I hope you're having a great time! Hugs,

-Chris [Ethereal Remains] 6/15/2005 2:15:48 PM

nice to hear you're learning your way around. Yeah you'd kinda know some of the Melbourne stuff just from reading my OD, but seeing it in person is soooo much better! I wanna see A Lot Like Love, but it's not out here anymore so I have to wait for the dvd. :( on to part 3....

♥ [~Tiffany~] 6/15/2005 4:36:54 PM

Alot like love, is my fave!

Isn't melbourne just fantastic! :D [emmal0uise] 6/21/2010 12:49:02 AM


Last updated May 11, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.