Melbourne Part 1 in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

  • June 9, 2005, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Melbourne - Part 1 - 6/9/2005

What a fun trip down here I must say.  This being my second flight ever, I really enjoyed the take-off!  Something about being blasted into the sky to 30,000 feet by huge jet engines that really appeals to me :).  Anyway, my friend, Yuie, was kind enough to offer me a lift to the airport, and it was great to see him again too.  I was that paranoid about missing my flight, that when Yuie dropped me off at the airport, I realised I was 2 and a half hours early!  So I wandered around, and as I write this, I'm sitting at a desk in my room in the place I'm staying.  The beds are all done up nice and I'm the only one in a room with 4 beds - I chose the one near the window, furtherest from the door.  I'm going to transfer this to OD when I get home cos I'm actually using pen and paper!  Victoria Hall (where I'm staying) actually has internet access and I could write but I wanna enjoy my holiday more and try & stay away from the net.

Anyway, a girl sat next to me on the plane.  I was a bit iffy that she chose to sit next to me considering there were 3 seats, but then I thought I shouldn't be such a woose.  Anyway she struck up a conversation with me!  Her name was Steph and she was coming down to visit family.  I talked with her the whole way there and the trip went so fast!  Next thing I knew the plane started decending and the pilot told the crew to prepare for landing.  I was amazed at the view.  The plane flew out over the ocean and back inland toward to airport.  Steph told me they always did this, even though this was her first time flying with Jetstar too.  Jetstar Airport (or Avalon Airport) is much further away from the main airport, so it was like we landed in the middle of nowhere.  Luckily, I bought my ticket for the bus, which, for an extra $3, drove me to directly outside my motel!  I didn't even have to walk the remaining distance!  Anyway I thanked the driver and asked him how to get back, but he didn't give me a direct answer, so I'm still not sure how to get back to the airport!  Gosh I hope I can or else I'm stuck here!  I can't believe I have a 9:05am return flight, that means I have to hope to dear God that same bus can pick me up at like 7am so I can make it on time!  Gosh I'm so worried about it.

It was about 4pm when I got settled into my place, so I used the remaining daylight to wander around the city, trying to make sense of where things were.  I didn't get far.  The sun seems to go down so early here!  I found a 'Safeway', which is exactly the same as my work, except back in Queensland, it's called 'Woolworths' - I didn't even remember it had a different name down here.  I told the chick behind the counter I was from QLD and had never seen a 'Safeway', and she looked at me with a surprised, 'really?!'

I've been sending Luke messages but I'm pretty sure his phone's outta battery cos I saw his charger still plugged into the wall at home when I left.  I hope the animals will be alright - I gave the fish sufficient food and filled the quail's water dishes up - I just hope there's enough until Luke gets home on Sunday!  I should be more confident.  I've been freaking out slightly cos I just realised my phone charger's not in my bag.  I turned my phone off so I have enough battery until, hopefully, I can buy one in the city.  Well I can only try.  If not, I guess I'll be callin' my boi from a payphone!  Anyway I've had a HUGE day - Yuie and his boyfriend Addam have been sending sms's making sure I got here okay - they're the best.  Miss you guys!  Take care! 

Notes: --------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to Melbourne tomorrow! I can't wait :D [frangipani] 6/15/2005 4:52:10 AM

Yay for the safe trip! Try to have fun okay?! Hugs,

-Chris [Ethereal Remains] 6/15/2005 2:13:01 PM

glad to hear you had a safe trip. Hope you enjoyed the city as much as I did. ♥ [~Tiffany~] 6/15/2005 4:33:24 PM


Last updated May 11, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.