Dodging bullets in Stuff

  • Aug. 4, 2021, 9:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t written in a little while. I’ve been kind of busy, kind of not. I guess the latest is that we’re in lockdown again, so that’s fun. Although I joke that being in lockdown really isn’t that different to my homebody self anyway, so it’s not like life is all that different. I’m glad that I still get outside exposure from being an essential worker and still having a usual pay each week. Others not so lucky, but at least there is a state government ‘disaster payment’ this time, which pays out more than I earn by going to work and potentially exposing myself to Covid, so I count those people lucky!

I’m still annoyed that I haven’t even been able to get a first dose of the vaccine, and hearing that a healthy 20yr old in Sydney died yesterday doesn’t do anything to help ease my nerves. I only have the mask I’m wearing between me and numerous customers a day who choose to either not wear one at ALL, or take their mask DOWN over their mouth to talk to me. Sheesh, people! But, as the company says, we are not the police and can’t make people wear masks. We can only protect ourselves from our end by socially distancing and wearing the said-mask.
I’m very glad the masks I ordered last week came in, because we had nothing last week. It was another busy work-week last week, especially when the lockdown was extended. I put up limit signs on the toilet paper immediately and didn’t even wait for a go-ahead from head office. Fuck that. Of course we were still very low but we didn’t completely run out. I didn’t think the masks had come in on time, but thankfully they did when I left on Sunday so I could put them out. I doubt any manager even thought to order any extra. They only sent extra of the shitty disposable ones though and only one carton of the reusable, but better than nothing I figure. So it was another busy work-week, but we had extra staff in due to the extreme smashing of the KPI’s from the panic-buying, so a lot actually got done! I’m back tomorrow. I just want a damn fucking vaccine before an invisible virus kills me. My state had 16 cases yesterday, and a further 17 today (mostly school-children). So okay-ish numbers, but there’s still a “missing link” which is concerning for the contact tracers. I can’t help but think it might be related to the watch-house case that my brother knew about but the media didn’t even mention.
My poor friend Brande’ has been caught up in the middle of the latest cluster (thankfully he’s okay) but he’s very on edge with it being so rampant all around him. We’re both checking the exposure sites regularly, as anyone in my city should also be doing.

I kind of like writing about these strange times because I do hope not to become a victim of an invisble virus and can make it to old age and read back of this fucked up time in history one day.

Mum has organized dad’s 70th birthday at a venue back in my parent’s hometown on the 21st, so I’ve booked a car to go out there, but of course I will only be going if my city isn’t still in lockdown, and things probably aren’t looking promising. Too many people don’t give a fuck anymore. The majority of people are doing the right thing (51,000 tests yesterday) but of course there’s those selected entitled who could easily undo everything for us. It’s not hard to stay home for a few days, but apparently it is. People don’t want the government controlling their lives. I’m just thankful I don’t have a life and that I have half a brain. Two people lost their lives in Sydney yesterday.
I am only missing the gym. I just re-pumped up my gym ball again, but my home workouts suck in comparison. Work is a good distraction from the lockdown, and I’m still enjoying my weekends stuck inside all day. I watched the entirety of “Genera+ion”. Thank God American TV isn’t so lame to be risque’ like it used to be, compared to British TV. I was actually surprised to see nudity in it. Vish recommended it to me and said I’d like it, and he was right.
Other than that, I’ve just been watching the daily press conferences and a fair bit of the Olympics. So glad I was watching live for that men’s 400m hurdles world record that got smashed. That was unreal. And I caught up on the badminton finals. I felt so sad for the Taiwanese girl, who had to settle for silver. Harris and I have sort of been texting about her, so that’s been nice. It’s also Harris’ birthday right after my dad’s, but I doubt I’ll be taking him out for a romantic dinner like I did last year. Man it’s crazy how things can change.
I also watched the f1 race live, and it was another nail-biter. It wasn’t a good feeling. I almost wanted to stop watching and go to sleep but I’m glad I stuck with it. And then I had to wait until Andrew caught up watching it so we could talk about it. That’s always so hard! But I won’t be watching it live anymore either after I cancel Foxtel so it won’t be a big deal.

Anyway, I forgot to post this and thought I’d lost the whole thing when my laptop wouldn’t load. Wish me luck not to get Covid, you know, since I can’t get a first dose until October and all since our government is fucking useless.


Jodie August 04, 2021

I have a really stupid question for you? Why hasn't your employer insisted that you and your co workers be vaccinated fully before you go to work? And why haven't you got your vaccine? Maybe your employer can get the vaccines to your work place?

KissOfLife! Jodie ⋅ August 05, 2021

I don't have my vaccine because there isn't enough supply until October. Also, what supply there is is being used first for more vulnerable people. We have a useless Prime Minister who stuffed it all up and didn't secure enough supply for the population, and now that the Delta variant is taking off, a lot of people are really concerned. So, if I don't make it, it's been a nice ride lol.

Jodie KissOfLife! ⋅ August 05, 2021

You are in Canada right? I thought that there was more then enough? I really hope you don't get Covid or the variant and your boss should have better protocols but then maybe he/she/it really doesn't care about you or anyone else?

KissOfLife! Jodie ⋅ August 09, 2021

No, I'm Australian. Hopefully things will pick up soon.

Jodie KissOfLife! ⋅ August 09, 2021

I love the way you talk....

Swanny August 06, 2021

October?! Wow, I've got my booked for early Sep, so next month. It does seem slow to access hey.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.