And so it ends Brief in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • May 11, 2014, 1:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday night was the final "End of Semester" party for law school! It was... hrm. Yeah, some of this may be more appropriate for my "more likely to offend" book, lol.

Anyway... how did I spend my Friday/Saturday of official Non-Law School-ness? Somewhat tamely.

Friday, I actually had an FBI training- no shit- for my job at corrections. As we are the bottomest of the bottom rungs in our department; our boss had been able to waive this entirely unnecessary training for the last several years. Not this year. Something about wanting to use our department for more and more shit (no surprise... more responsibility, less money... this state government's plan to constantly raise taxes and refuse to spend any money will ALSO be an entry for a different book). Anyway... yeah. I had to take a training about government documents and security clearance warning signs, administered by an FBI online resource... when I have less access to government documents and security clearance issues than Google. Kind of a waste, but whatever.

When I got home, I was suddenly hit with an overwhelming feeling of dread. I couldn't shake it. I just kept thinking "I've got a bad feeling about this." And no matter what, it wouldn't go away... but I also couldn't pinpoint exactly what it was that I had such a bad feeling about. It was SO powerful, that I considered NOT going to the end-of-semester party. Ultimately, because both the Wife and I need to socialize more (with others and with each other)... so I decided we should go.

I have to admit- the Wife brought it in the looks department!! It is one of the reasons I am (1) miffed that 99 times out of 100, she doesn't even wear makeup; (2) upset that she hates her appearance so much; and (3) irked that she has refused sex for so long. Because seriously... make up, shoes, and outfit- she brought it! Even one of my friends said he was impressed that she even owned "fuck me" heels. Of course... for the Wife and I, we don't consider those "fuck me" heels. Not just because we don't engage in that activity... but because she is a shoe aficionado and I sold high end footwear for four years. But still... the fact that the shoes could be casually mistaken suggests the style of the shoe. I think she was glad she brought it because there were a lot of very attractive young women at the party... the party was at a private club with outdoor patio and many of the female law students and the dates of the male law students went all out.

Of course... the problem was... there were MANY law students and their dates. MANY. But that is okay. Lots of people doesn't bother me per se but it puts me a bit on edge because of how quickly lots of people can become a problem... especially when drinking. And boy did it become a problem. It took 98 minutes to get a drink at the bar. Why? Lots of reasons. 1- there was only one bar and one bartender to serve almost 300 people. 2- No less than 30% of those people were monstrous assholes. There was CONSTANT line-jumping and that shit and when called out? "3L privilege suck it!" I'm a graduating 3L, too, you dickless asshole. Rules don't change just because you're drunk and a douche. Or the one I heard a lot that really gets me? The one from the female law students. "When you're this cute, you don't have to wait in line." I was... on the brink of absolute murder.

AND THAT is how I spent the Last Day of Law School. Now, the Hooding Ceremony next Friday awaits!


lessoff May 11, 2014

congrats :)

Fawkes Gal May 12, 2014

If I believed in hell I would say that there is a special place in hell for line-cutters. However since I don't believe in hell, I will just have to settle for clenching my fists in fury.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.