Status Update in Steps to Change

  • May 10, 2014, 4:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have...stalled in my push to get into shape, due to a couple of factors, and I'm a little unsure how to proceed with this (though, considering how much I am unsure of right now, in general, this shouldn't be surprising).

I've switched back to my standing desk, because I sit far too much as is, and I tend to be rather productive there. Between that and picking up walking again, though, my legs are rather unhappy with me, especially today. I accidentally spent ~8 hours standing at my desk last night, and my knee is letting me know that was dumb, at least to do so much so fast.

The problem here is that most of the routines that I've tried to settle into tend to be hard enough on my legs that I can't really do both. So, this has been a disruption to my attempts to establish a pattern, and there is another major one around the corner. I'm taking a beach vacation at the start of June, and if history is any indicator, that will fuck up any kind of habits I try to start now.

Which, of course, means I don't want to establish any, but I don't want to not work out, which leaves me in a weird, floundering place, where I try to do something, which usually means I'm not pushing myself very hard.

One of my biggest roadblocks to long-term success, I think, is being able to devise a plan that is consistently challenging, that delivers results, without being impossible for me. I know what I can handle this week, and next, but don't have a feel for how I should be progressing (what is realistic, etc.), so my default laziness kicks in, I don't make any progress, get discouraged, and give up.

It's that or my goals are too ambitious, I push myself too hard, can't keep up, and give up, discouraged.

Wonderful, isn't it?

I may take these next few weeks to walk more often (I really want to establish a morning walking habit, even if it means getting up even earlier than I do now - getting out in the morning is the best way for me to deal with my allergies and the heat), as well as trying out some other workout options. I guess my plan is to keep doing something, hope that I can maintain it through my vacation, and really get serious when I get back?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.