At least it's not COVID in 2020

  • July 30, 2021, 3:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, a little over a week ago I came home from a morning at work and was hanging out on the couch with the family when suddenly I felt like I was hit by a bus. Not literally of course, just in a coughing, sneezing, feverish kind of way. I hoped it was just a quick thing but it absolutely was not. Wednesday I dragged my miserable ass to get a COVID test, and I was supposed to work on Thursday but I called out. The test came back negative, but I still have not been this sick in ages. By Saturday I was lost in self-pity, convinced I would never again be healthy. I’m still not one hundred percent, but at least I’m slightly improved. My fever broke, and my coughing is mostly under control. I haven’t been to work all week but I’m going back tomorrow.

Sadly I have passed my non-COVID germs to my entire family. DH went to get a COVID test of his own because he thought maybe I had a false negative - he hasn’t been this sick in ages either. The kids aren’t faring quite as badly, but they’re definitely not feeling great. I’m going to get them tested just so that they can prove it isn’t COVID when they go back to school…

Because school starts on Monday! I’m not sure if the kids are excited, but I sure as hell am. I hope this year is better than last year. They need to get out of the house, and be challenged academically.

Also, I’m going to wear a mask forever. Apparently COVID germs aren’t the only scary thing out there.


-d July 30, 2021

Wow! School starts SO early for you guys. Here, they start way closer to September.

I heard RSV is going around pretty bad, and some other upper respiratory viruses. It's like they're making a hard come back after a year of mask wearing and hand sanitizing.

Honor July 31, 2021

I'm going to miss masks for a number of reasons, including germs and not having to smile at people and moderate my facial expressions to satisfy cultural norms. LOL

Adira Honor ⋅ July 31, 2021

Right?! Although I was just saying to Rob, with a mask people can't see my resting bitch face and they think I'm approachable.

Calicakes August 04, 2021

Glad it wasn't covid.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.