Happy Mother's Day Eve.... in Secrets from myself

  • May 10, 2014, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo 04091295110200.jpg

Spring and Mother's Day are coinciding. Best weather for a weekend, best weather for the year, period. Sunshine and warmth and blue skies and happiness.

I went to town this morning - and found it busy. People are buying things to plant. The hanging baskets and pots of geraniums are at the prime. The greenhouse that sets up at the discount store is buzzing with buyers and lookers.

I came home by different neighbors and saw a driveway full of cars and a backyard full of kids. I saw a soninlaw on the deck staring into space.

My brother lives on that road too and it's a road I used to walk a fair amount. It was a good one-way walk, a little too far for to and fro. A friend had her first bicycle ride of the season this morning. This would be a better bicycle trek than a walk.

I had two unexpected mother's day greetings.

A card came in the mail with a wonderful picture of mother and cub polar bears. And yesterday at work a woman wished me Happy Mother's day. I said I was surprised. She said didn't I know it was Mother's Day. I said I knew that but I hadn't known I was her mother. So now I have a new daughter and she comes with three more grandsons. I asked their names. Tyler and Isaac and I forget the other one. Her name is Nancy and she is a very pleasant woman.

My real progeny is in attendance. Son John is upstairs sweeping. Son Jim is planting corn. Daughterinlaw Deb and granddaughter Katie and grandson Will are in town with the other grandmother. According to Facebook, Subway sandwiches are in order.

I have a pan of chili - with black and kidney beans in it - on the stove. I'm tending the washing machine too. And I have a package of sunflower seeds to plant in the new tulip and daffodil garden.

Life is good. Let's hope our share of it is fair. And sweet.

(Tulip photo is a cropping of a phone pic Jim took last year or the years before. Daffies are out but tulips need another week or so.)


Ragdolls May 10, 2014

thesunnyabyss May 10, 2014

Happy Mother's Day Eve, enjoy your time with your family :)

Darcy0207 from OD May 10, 2014

Enjoy your weekend!

NorthernSeeker May 10, 2014

Glad I came on here. Of course I have forgotten about mother's day, both for my mother and for myself.

NorthernSeeker May 10, 2014

Would you believe it? We have a red tulip growing in front of the house.

It's a nice day here. There's a rugby tournament going on at the school.

Tick Tock Tick May 10, 2014

Very glad to hear you happily reflecting about this gorgeous day and pleased with motherhood. You did one fine job of it, Woman. Good you will have a daughter now. What a pleasure to randomly stop by only to be infused with your glowing exuberance. Joy to the World! Joy to You!

Just Annie May 11, 2014

I love tulips. I mean to plan some bulbs every fall, but I don't so I must be content with the few that are in the rock garden. Red and yellow. They're blooming now.

Beret May 12, 2014

Both daffodils and tulips are pretty much done with here. Unless they are late blooming tulips. But mostly gone.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.