Tuesday Thumps Gently in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 28, 2021, 8:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here we are
The last Tuesday of July.
We lap the days
Time is all we have
And it is plenty.

I read some poems
And a short story
I ate cottage cheese
And a sausage
Milk and coffee, ice.

I share the house
With cats, a dog, a son
All wander in and out
Seeking, finding, omitting
Whatever makes them selves.

Tomorrow, Wednesday
Still July I go to town
I take a hard to mail card
To the post office
I pick up my blood pressure
Prescription and I shop
For groceries.

Key lime pie in little boxes
More Pepsi in cans
Fruit, cottage cheese
Yogurt from the Aegean
Other stuff that catches
My eye and appetite.

I come home to here
This, poems and short stories,
Cats and dog and son
Warm endless, ending
Summer of the end
Of my life.

Coda

There was a storm midday
It took the light away
And made assurance insecure
Rain. perhaps some wind
No real harm, and a glorious
Welcome to the sun’s return.


Jinn July 28, 2021

❤️

NorthernSeeker July 28, 2021

My brain has been drained of all power. I want to write something smart and meaningful but this is all I have.

Purple Dawn July 29, 2021

Lovely :) I did have to look up the word "coda".

Serin July 30, 2021

Yogurt from the Aegean is definitely something the marketing folks need to be using. It sounds like magic

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ July 31, 2021

I used to think, and maybe still do, that advertising would be the highest, perhaps most satisfying form of creativity. Limitless, creative, powerful, capable of true beauty. Money in too if you're in the right place at the right time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.