Reconstruction: Week 1, Lower A. in Exerbabble III

  • June 30, 2021, 8:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

    Wednesday, June 30th, 2021
    Crux: 8:41 AM - 9:38 AM (57 minutes)

    Yesterday's nutrition: Too much chocolate after the sun went down.
    Sleep: Good.

    Front Squat:
    8 @ 45 lbs
    8 @ 55 lbs
    8 @ 65 lbs
    8 @ 75 lbs
    5 @ 85 lbs

    Speed Deadlift:
    8x3 @ 135 lbs

    DB Reserve Lunges:
    12, 11, 8 @ 10 lbs

    DB Farmer's Walks: ~180 ft?
    1 minute @ 35 lbs
    1 minute @ 40 lbs
    1 minute @ 35 lbs

    "Machine" Hip Thrust:
    5 @ 95 lbs
    8, 7 @ 75 lbs

    +10 minutes dreadmill cooldown

Not nearly as excited for this workout. Not sure why. Oh right, because LEGS. I’ve had bad luck with front squats. Even in front squats, I have a forward lean issue, in addition to difficulty keeping the bar supported on my front shoulders. But, it was light enough that it wasn’t a big deal.

Could have gone heavier on deadlifts, but that isn’t the goal. This has worked in the past to practice more quality ‘first pulls”. To know what a fast deadlift feels like, rather than a slower grind. Simply reminded myself “well, if I had ten pounds a week…”

I hate lunges.

Been years since I’ve done farmer’s walks. A “lap” around the area I was in took about a minute, so that’s decent time-under-tension to aim for. Estimated the length by counting and averaging my number of strides, and then measuring my average stride.

Damn near impossible to describe the hip thrust apparatus. It’s like a barbell hip thrust, but well. It’s a lever system? IT FRIES MY HAMMIES AND BUNZ. I felt it in my upper glutes. UPPER GLUTES. I’ve used it before, but if I were a n00b, my bunz would be sore tomorrow.

Tomorrow is supposed to be a rest day. Meh. Even while I drag my feet getting to the gym, I hate rest days. I’ll try to milk being psyched for my next workout?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.