Lockdown #3 in Stuff

  • June 29, 2021, 10:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As predicted, we’re in lockdown again. Yay.... Probs good that I didn’t go anywhere and cancelled everything. So we can only leave the house for 4 reasons, which are usually the only reasons I leave the apartment anyway :P
We were meant to have an inspection tomorrow, but after the Premier’s announcement, an email came through postponing it. I guess that means management have gone home for the week. I had somewhat started to clean, but not overly, so that worked out okay.
I was also meant to go visit Vish and James tonight, but that’s off. The lockdown is only for 3 days, but it’ll obvi depend on numbers. We had two more local cases today, one being concerning. Strangely enough, again, neither case was the one I’ve heard intel on. GREAT! So now I’m not sure if what I heard just isn’t true, or if the government is covering up an even worse situation and are focusing on one ‘concern’ at a time. People are fucking over it, that’s for sure. My friend who works at Coles on the Gold Coast got hammered today with idiots panic-buying. I’ve got caught out in the previous two lockdowns when I was at work, but am happy to have escaped this one. I managed to go to the gym yesterday. They are closed for the next three days. That’s about all I really do that effects me.

The case they are concerned about works at the Prince Charles Hospital. Moe’s boyfriend, Ben, works there. So that was fun trying to work out when I was at their house for movie night, as the government wants anyone who is a contact from LAST MONDAY to isolate. Brande’ reminded me that I was there the Friday before. Phew. Then my housemate being at the gym across the road an hour after a positive case was there was a bit close. Like, how long does the delta variant of the virus hang around? Just while people are breathing there at the time? It’s almost like dodging flying bullets these days.

I want to go get my Covid jab but there’s so much different information out there about eligibility etc. I’m not yet eligible by doing it the proper way (although tomorrow is July 1st so maybe soon), but apparently if I just show up and join the line, they’ll give me one anyway. But then some people post saying that they were turned away. I don’t know who to believe!
But upon news of the lockdown today, the lines were apparently gigantic. I’ve seen all the posts/theories about it being a ploy to get Queenslanders vaccinated after the State Of Origin game was over because it worked well down in Victoria when their latest lockdown was announced. As in, a lot of people got their vaccine. Our Prime Minister is being slammed for the slow roll-out, and I don’t blame Australians being angry. I’m one of them lol.
To think even the Northern Territory and Magnetic Island are in lockdown at the moment is crazy.
The sheer mental fatigue after 18 months of this worldwide. Something’s gotta give, right?
Who’s right? Who’s wrong? Are vaccines are ploy to control the population? Does Covid-19 exist?
Well, I’m pretty sure it does. I’m just going crazy in my brain as per usual.

I watched Schindler’s List today. I’d never seen it. So that was fun. Pretty confronting lol. So that’s a great movie to start off my lockdown with. It’s just started raining outside. Maybe that will wash the Covid away.


Last updated June 29, 2021


~Octopussy~ June 30, 2021

I find it so mind boggling. Here the US has reopened, we don't hear anything about variants except conspiracy theories about Delta, which most people think is referring to the airline company. We're just basically pretending Covid never happened.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ June 30, 2021

That is sooo mind boggling that it's swept under the rug there. LOL at the Delta joke. Here there's genome sequencing for every positive case to determine each variant, and contact-tracing venues are listed on websites as soon as known so the public know to get tested just in case. The Delta variant is taken very seriously, especially with Indonesia (supposedly) having 20,000 cases per day. I wish we were like Singapore, as they seem to be one of the few countries living a normal life, although it sounds pretty good there now too?

s.q.u.e.a.k July 01, 2021

It's so weird. One of our positive cases ate at a restaurant, a person sitting somewhere behind her then got it but the people she was sitting with didn't. 🤷‍♀️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.