Competitive Tomatoes? Really? in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 24, 2021, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is my favorite picture from the last few days. The clematis is in Mrs. Sherlock’s Garden. (Spellcheck insists on capitalizing garden, which makes me laugh as if her garden was an amusement park or something, which in a way, I suppose it is).

I took some pictures yesterday of the first marigold flowers in my own plot, but they so did not do the actual flowers justice. They are this dark almost red orange and on one plant the petals are etched in this glorious line of yellow. There is this jewel tone royal quality to them. The fact that I grew these from seed is amazing to me. The seeds were Burpee’s Best Mixed Colors and I got them at the grocery for less than $2.00.

Yesterday morning when I was weeding a common area a woman said hello and asked me about the garden and how it worked. She only had a few teeth and clearly has had or has a drug problem. She was self-deprecating and said she could never grow anything, and I reassured her that this was my first rodeo and if I could do it so could she. I hope I never take my delight in all this for granted.

The other day when I was in the grocery I saw a middle-aged man, (maybe a little past that), with a cart with a few things in it, but right in the middle was a tomato plant.

I have been observing lately that competitive tomato growing seems to be a thing among certain relatively privileged men. I was listening to a podcast (Joe Gardener) promoting an online course called “Growing Epic Tomatoes”.

I was like, oh that is interesting, but it is $397.00!!!

Is tomato growing now like a sport? Where you must have all the right equipment and amendments and seeds to keep up and be in the club.

One of the things I love about the plot is how everything smells, the basil, the nasturtiums and yes, the tomatoes. I heard this thing yesterday where they think part of how homing pigeons orient themselves and find their way back to their nest or home areas is by smell. They develop these smell profiles of information coming in on the wind as they are developing and they have an internal compass so they (unlike many of us) know where, say, north is.

You hear these stories about how lost dogs and cats find their way home and no one knows how they do it. I bet this is part of the answer.

Diego was over the top clingy this morning. I wasn’t getting anything done. Finally, I had to take a time out and put him in the bedroom and it was clear when I went in a bit later that he had not been feeling well. We are in a every ten days or so cycle now. Which is a lot better than last year.

It is supposed to be 111˚F here on Sunday. That is just crazy. I left to walk to the grocery this morning at 7:20 AM. There were only two patches of bright sun on the hour long walk as there are mostly trees on the parkway. There were several women, (mostly) out exercising early. 111 is deadly heat. We are all shifting our schedules to deal with this unfolding intense weather, those of us who can.

We have maybe a week, maybe two, before all the grasses and the wildflowers dry out and die off. We are not talking about fires although the specter of them is ever-present.

They picked up the specialty recycling box this morning. Every week they pick up plastic film, lightbulbs, batteries, and clothing. Then there is an extra item bi-weekly. The specialty pickup item for today was metal tops for jars and bottles. I hadn’t saved any because until now I hadn’t been able to recycle them. The specialty pickup item for two weeks from today is fleece blankets. It was so great to safely get rid of all the batteries I had collected. I used to recycle them at work.

And so much of the food packaging can go too in that plastic film category. They text you and you opt in for a pickup. They tell you when then have switched out your box for a new one. You can add on a Styrofoam or a clear plastic clamshell pickup. You don’t need to take the labels off! They make new clamshells out of the old ones. It is a new company, and they are trying hard. Win, win.

Our Covid cases are finally averaging less than 300 a day, and in my county, deaths are becoming rare. I am trying to train myself not to step out six feet on the sidewalk or into the street when I pass someone without a mask.

It is going to take awhile to train this old dog how to be in the world again.


Last updated June 24, 2021


woman in the moon June 24, 2021 (edited June 24, 2021)

Edited

I rather casually grew some marigolds from seed this year and the little ones are starting to bloom already too. I have great faith in science, plant-wise. I see how farm crops are continually improved and I wonder about the seeds we buy too. I mean to ask our seed corn guy what he thinks.
I have a tiny space beside my deck - where Jim pulled out old half dead evergreen shrubs and where my sisterinlaw last summer said I should have my garden. I planted some of my seedlings there and surprise! it looks like I have a potato plant growing nicely. I didn't purposely plant it, but maybe somehow it grew. Potatoes are easy to grow. And quite attractive. If in the spring you ever have sprouted potatoes, plant a piece of one and see if it grows for you.
Tomatoes - I think are cousins of potatoes - nightshade family. I took a master gardener course years ago and one whole class was devoted to tomatoes. They seemed to have a lot of diseases.... plus there is a lot of interest in growing them. I bought Celebrity seedlings this year. I wanted grape or plum tomatoes but the place only had Celebrity. They are good tomatoes, kind of like baseballs, not too big and they ripen reliably. We could talk gardening forever. That and poetry. No end to the good stuff.

mcbee June 24, 2021

Cat parenting is not as easy as a lot of people think.

Deleted user June 25, 2021

I have an image of men standing around comparing tomatoes. "Yeah, you've got brass ones, buddy."

The recycling program sounds wonderful. Here we just dump it all into a bin at the end of the hallway and hope someone sorts it all out somewhere.

Marg June 28, 2021

That’s such a good idea having a specialty recycling pickup - I wish they did that here. I had no idea there was such competition in growing tomatoes - somehow that seems to take the fun out of it for me! I think you’re onto something about the smell issue - our pets definitely have much better developed senses than us.

Jinn June 29, 2021

I wish they recycled like that here .
I am grateful if my tomatoes grow :-)

noko Jinn ⋅ June 29, 2021

I think it is a city thing. More places to donate to and small businesses to repurpose things. Of course the down side is that we have drug addicts that are out and about looking for any opportunity. When the old box was switched out for a new one, someone came by and took one of the canvas bags they supply out and then realized they couldn't use it or sell it, dumped it out on the curb. Never a dull moment. I would think it would be hot enough there for tomatoes?

noko Jinn ⋅ June 29, 2021

I think it is a city thing. More places to donate to and small businesses to repurpose things. Of course the down side is that we have drug addicts that are out and about looking for any opportunity. When the old box was switched out for a new one, someone came by and took one of the canvas bags they supply out and then realized they couldn't use it or sell it, dumped it out on the curb. Never a dull moment. I would think it would be hot enough there for tomatoes?

Jinn noko ⋅ June 29, 2021 (edited June 29, 2021)

Edited

It’s hot here but this year has been very wet and not much sun at all . Tomatoes will stop growing at high temperatures too . :-( I do better with cherry tomatoes than the standard size .
I am glad I do not live close to downtown here ; the homeless flock to the downtown areas and trash it. They have trashed the library. There are tent cities and the streets are littered with condoms and used syringes. I will not go there for anything, which is a shame because there are some good restaurants snd interesting shops. Springfield used to be a tourist destination because of all the Lincoln sites but why anyone would want to visit here now I can not imagine. It’s hard to feel compassion for the homeless when you look at the damage they do and the apathy they project. On the news here ( almost every evening ) they interview different ones and their attitudes annoy me :-( . They feel they are “owed “ and that is hard to sympathize with. They are starting to be aggressive about panhandling downtown and the police have had to be called. They use dogs and small children as props for sympathy. We have some shelters but it’s not nearly enough . :-( and they need more support services by far . The city is not doing enough and it shows. The city got millions from the government in grants to address these issues but it appears nothing is getting done . :-( Typical Illinois politicians :-(

Jinn June 29, 2021

I personally love marigolds :-) and that Clematis is stunning !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.