Week away *long winded lol* in A Day in the Life of Me

  • June 24, 2021, 11:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So! I FINALLY got down to see my mom!!
Just got caught up on all my regulars, so now to fill you all in!
Baked the weekend away, planned out everything called the shuttle on the Sunday, to book for Tuesday. Spent all Monday without a word back. Called again Monday evening, left another msg, and then late into the night Monday, I check the website (# has been in my phone so long, I never go to the site) and see a “Due to covid we have suspended service until further notice” on the bottom of the page!
No calls back to explain, I am kind of disappointed, I have used this service since I moved out of my home town in 2001.
So, I post on FB, just venting my frustrations, and the next morning, a friend of ours starts msg’ing, asking when I had been planning on going and for how long, but lunch time we had it all arranged and the trip was back on! Just a day later then planned!
He and his wife picked my up Wed morning, and by lunch time I had an excited, crying Momma!
We had a good time. She text me about half an hour into the drive that she got the call to go back to work the next day (Of course, murphys law), but we still got lots of time in. And she was super surprise with all her treats.
Those of you on FB will know, but for those not I made her :
- Sausage and cabbage dinner meals (x4)
- Meatloafs (x6)
- Banana bread (x2)
- lemon muffins with cream cheese filling
- Raspberry chocolate chip muffins
Not to mention all the presents I had here for her for mothers day that i missed, her birthday thats next month, and the “just cause” stuff.

Got to meet up with one of my besites down there too, and polished off 4 bottles of wine with her, got to see my niece and great grand nephew as well. He’s grown so much seeing as the last time i saw him was at her baby shower a little over a week after he was born, but he’s a friendly baby, and was wanting ups from me as soon as i came in.
Mom had to work every day I was there except the day I landed, but filling time was easy.
Wed - she was off, so we had to go to town and get food stuffs
Thur - drinks night at T’s
Fri - saw my niece, and wandered around town a little bit until mom was off work
Sat - was rained out, so stayed home and crashed on the couch and read, and watched tv till mom got home
Sun - was fathers day, so everyone was busy, was a BEAUTIFUL day, so once Mom went to work, I packed up my camera bag and hit the back shore to the ocean. spent a couple hours before I knew it picking my way over the rocks, picking up bottles (mom collects all year long to take into the recycling depo T’s family owns) once my camera died, and managed to find her a shopping bag full.
Mon - Hung out with T a bit again after she got done work, just for support. Her hubby ended up in ER with stones, and her oldest isn’t doing well. The prognoses for him keeps getting worse poor kid.
Tue - around 5 my friend and his wife came and picked me back up and brought me home.

Yesterday D and I did some running around, he finally ordered new glasses, got some groceries and treats while we were out, then chilled at home the rest of the day. Today, everything is pretty much back to normal for me.
Going down again in August, if not sooner. Mom’s been wanting to have a yard sale again for a while, but summer with covid last year was a no go plus she was working, (she works Fri - tues, so no weekends off) and not that she’s back to work again she thought she was gonna have to put it off again until she retires in 3 years or unless something happened with work and she had a weekend free.
I told her, plan it, let me know when, and I would come down and do it for her.

Wed next week is lil miss Ps first birthday party, and then Fri I am going to babysit her again while N goes to meet up with her (soon to be) ex to FINALLY get her name off some paperwork that she’s been trying to get off of for almost the past 2 years. A has to work, and N has to travel to NB to do this, so understandably, she doesn’t want to drag P along.

Well that’s my catch up. Hope the rest of you are all doing well.


Bomb Shell June 29, 2021

Sounds like you had a great week with your mom, I’m glad you finally got to go and see her. 😊

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ June 29, 2021

It was! She was very surprised, and now we're planning another trip in August for a yard sale (me run it, while she's at work)!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.