Nope. in These Foolish Things

  • June 24, 2021, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nope. I don’t like that video I posted yesterday. I tried to use it to help me sleep last night and some of the “bongs” on the bowls were jarring and kept me awake! I think I need something different like a guided meditation or something to concentrate on.

Nope. I had a couple of moments with the Cyclist over the last couple of days. I thiiiink he might have a little drama up his sleeves, and I am NOT going to accept that at all. We have a lunch date planned today and I’m going to broach the subject. I’ve been very direct from the get-go. I am literally trying to stay ALIVE here. I have NO bandwidth for drama, passive-aggressiveness or “joking” mimicry. That will not fly with me. There’s some insecurity there that really surprises me. He’s a C-level executive, for goodness sake. I’ll report back later.

Nope. I don’t have a great attitude every day. I’m not “brave” and I’m not always “strong” and I can’t always have a powerful stance. I’m doing the best that I can under the circumstances. I have chemo brain and chemo body and some days I’m surprised by how great I feel and other days are really, really weird. I will get through, but there are bumps along this rollercoaster ride.

GS


Firebabe June 24, 2021

You might be surprised at the level of insecurity MANY C-level executives have. I saw a few in my time at Big Blue that made me think that they must have incriminating photos of someone, somewhere, because how else did they get to that level within the company? I'm sad to hear that the shine is rubbing off the Cyclist so soon. Agree with you though - you have no room for drama!

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ June 25, 2021

We talked. It was a good talk.

At Last June 24, 2021

You are brave and strong. Maybe some days more than others. But you are. And you don’t have to have a powerful stance if you don’t feel like it. And yes. . .NO DRAMA.

Ginger Snap At Last ⋅ June 25, 2021

💗

WhatDreamsMayCome June 24, 2021

Keep your standards.
Feed your strengths.
Allow your weaknesses.
Stay brave always.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ June 24, 2021

💗

Deleted user June 24, 2021

Have you tried ASMR videos? They have them with just sounds, or with people whispering or speaking softly. It might look a little weird in public, but there are some that just looks like you're taking an online class, and if you have a headset on, no one else will hear it anyway. I like the French Whisperer, who also has things on the Calm app. He doesn't give me the "tingles," but dang, I sure have learned a lot of history, mythology, and art!

A number of them have meditation videos, encouragement videos, and just nice chit-chat videos like a show-and-tell.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2021

Good stuff! I’m grateful for technology. You can find pretty much anything out there. Thank you for your suggestions 💗

Athena June 24, 2021

No weird gongs. Nobody else's drama. No fake bravery. No apologies. You're human and that is A++.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ June 25, 2021

💗

Marg June 24, 2021

Of course there are and probably very big bumps at that! But that will make the levelling out all the better when it surprises you :) And I hope you're very wrong about the cyclist in the nicest way possible!

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ June 25, 2021

Me too! We talked and it was good 💗

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ June 25, 2021

Good to hear!

Complicated Disaster June 24, 2021

I didn't like the video either but I didn't say anything in case you did! 🤣🤣🤣
And ohhhhh. I hope the Cyclist isn't going to be a bust!
Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ June 25, 2021

Haha! Please always tell me these things! 🤣

a girl thinking June 24, 2021

try searching for healing frequency music. they have it for sleep and all kinds of things.

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ June 25, 2021

I found a couple!!

a girl thinking Ginger Snap ⋅ June 26, 2021

Yay!

a girl thinking Ginger Snap ⋅ July 07, 2021

Yay!

Gangleri June 24, 2021

Have you tried some lo-fi music? It tends to be soft and quiet in the background kinda thing that you can have there to just take up a little bit of brain space to calm everything else down.

Or something like this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPoqNeR3_UA

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ June 25, 2021

That’s kind of hilarious, but actually really soothing!

Gangleri Ginger Snap ⋅ June 25, 2021

So ridiculous it works, right?

echopod June 24, 2021

One of the most insecure people I’ve met was a c-level guy. Oof. No good on the drama.

You don’t have to be anything but still here! Glad for that.

Ginger Snap echopod ⋅ June 25, 2021

I hope I nipped the drama.
And thank you 💗

Sunny Baudelaire June 25, 2021

I have a couple of meditation recommendations, if you want to check them out.

The Balance app for iPhone puts together a personalized meditation program for you, and they’re giving out the first year of membership for free right now to help people deal with their stress. (You just have to remember to cancel it in a year or it’ll bill you $50 for the following year.) I’ve been using that and I like it.

There’s also a guy on YouTube named Jason Stephenson who has tons of difference meditations. Some are guided, and some are just music or alpha/beta/theta waves or whatever they are. He has a really relaxing voice with an Aussie accent. I really love his wind down before sleep ones.

I’m really sorry that you’re going through all this. 💜

Ginger Snap Sunny Baudelaire ⋅ June 25, 2021

Oh my gosh, Sunny. Thank you for these recommendations. I really appreciate them! Looking up Jason Stephenson now...

Jinn June 25, 2021

Hugs! If you did not have times when you felt discouraged, sad or frustrated then you would not be human . IMO . ❤️

plushcreep June 26, 2021

Uh-oh. Hopefully the Cyclist drama doesn't turn into a deal-breaker. At the same time, you HAVE to look out for yourself first.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.