Reconstruction. in Exerbabble III

  • June 23, 2021, 1:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No, no, not that boring part of US History.

It has been years since I had any consistency in the gym. So many starts and stops in the past five years. Seems so long since I was a registered gymrat. Finishing a workout, anxious for the next one to be spanked. Rather than finishing a workout and hoping I’d make it to the next one.

(Well, I never have those [ negative] thoughts immediately after. It is merely the observation based on how many times I have yet to hit a month of consistency.

Part of why I haven’t been doing what I “want” to do is because I haven’t been able to think long-term in years. (At least, in terms of lifting.) I’ve been sticking with simpler workouts so it is easier to come back if I slip a little. (Caveat: simple doesn’t always mean easy.)

It will be the end of the year in almost six months. If New Years related plots are a thing, why not mid-year plots?

I haven’t decided on whether to crosspost my workouts here. I use the term “crosspost” loosely, as there’s no easy way to copy/paste from fitocracy. (I love love the graphs.) but i do recall the joy I found in writing about my workouts. I find rereading my nuanced commentary to be VERY useful when looking back at olde workouts.

https://www.fitocracy.com/profile/ColonelQuack/

Either the community is dead, or I never figured out how to properly interact on it. I post pretty much for me. “Gee, what is my history regarding this lift? Lemme look it up.” However, finding individual workouts gets trickier. BUT THE GRAPHS. I LOVE THE GRAPHS.


Ah, skipping thoughts. March 2020, ust before covid hit, I got in six workouts. Then the gym closed.

September 2020, I got in 8 workouts. Then lost my spark.

April, I got in 9 workouts. Then lost my spark.

May, I got in 4 workouts. Then lost my spark.

This month, I’m at 8 workouts, and I’m so psyched for my next one. Life feels different this time.

*by workout, I mean lifting. I track cardio, but when I say “workout”, I mean proper weight training.


I hope you have never had to live day-to-day. Just trying to get through each day, not sure of how you’re going to feel in a day or a week, let alone a month. A difficulty in fathoming the long-term.

Anyway. I’ve set up my current workout with the same exercise selection I want to use going forward, so that I’ll get those SEXY PROGRESSION GRAPHS on fitocracy. Will I change my workout? Does it matter? I’ve done month=long routines. I’ve done premade stuff for months. I’ve done my own for months.

Obviously my “training age” is too high to bother with a premade. It’s as simple and difficult as setting up what I want to do, and doing it.

alt text

Next week, I’m going to weight test the Big Three. (Squat, Deadlift, Bench) Though, I’ll probably also see if I can do any weighted chins. Sure, I could deadlift over 315 lbs, squat over 225 lbs, and bench over 155 lbs, lbs, but doing weighted chins with 75 lbs strapped to me also made me feel like a certified bad-ass.

“But gee, Timmy, you haven’t said a thing about what your routine will actually be!”

Yeah, because unless you’re a gymrat, it won’t mean much to you. Nor do I consider myself an expert in what would work for you or you’d enjoy, only an expert in me.


Last updated June 23, 2021


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.