FATHER'S DAY in Postcards 4

  • June 21, 2021, 1:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • list text herealt text

Margot came by and swept us off to a crowded but delicious breakfast at Perry’s. It looked as if every father in town was treated to breakfast there this day. Perry’s sits on a strategic corner near Old Town, and is now owned by one of its previous employees. On the side of their once Sambo’s building it says, “Best Breakfast in Town.”

It was wonderful stuff.

When we got home, my shoe stuck to something on the kitchen floor, and I fell. I couldn’t get up. The best I could do was sit on the floor and drape myself over the foot stool. We called Margot, and she came really soon. George and Margot inched me up on a tiny stool that Zoe pushed under me. Next came the bigger footstool with Zoe guiding it. From there I could stand at last.

I spend the rest of the day numb. I did do all my exercises conscious all the while of the fall. I also think I need to reinvent my house shoe. Normally I wear moccasins. Not now. Or maybe moccasins that tie tightly.


  • Himself: Baking brownies for his OT lady. Winning 14,835 nonstop games.
  • Myself: Reading, showering, writing this, et al.
  • Reading: Return to Midway. Ballard
  • Watching: KPBS: Older GBBS.
  • Photo: Zoe in 08 sitting in G’s grandmother’s chair.
  • Gratitude’s: That I feel so good today.
  • -

Jinn June 22, 2021

Whew! Glad that fall did not injure you !
Cute picture of Zoe !

Marg June 22, 2021

Goodness that must have given you a bit of a turn - glad you had plenty of help to get you upright again! Cute pic of Zoe :)

NorthernSeeker June 24, 2021

Whew...glad you didn't break anything in the fall.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.