Little Lamb in Days of My Destiny

  • May 5, 2014, 1:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had a little poddy lamb. An orphan lamb whose mother died while giving birth to its twin - who also died. We didn't give this lamb a name because she wasn't ours. She was our neighbour's and we were looking after it. The neighbour warned me that about 50 to 60% of poddy lambs die.

This little lamb was born on Thursday and I had her from when she was a few hours old until 1 o'clock this afternoon.

She wasn't well from yesterday afternoon. Although in her first couple of days she sucked at the milk bottle with much gusto, by yesterday afternoon she was only half interested in feeding. It didn't help that it was extremely cold over the weekend.

When my neighbour first approached me about looking after the lamb, he'd only just found her in the paddock and I was getting in my car to rush off to the bus stop and pick up my daughter. I was in two minds about looking after the lamb because I know that it requires a lot of time commitment and I was thinking about all the things coming up in the next few days and I wasn't sure that I could provide the time required. But I said yes. I figured things would work out.

I also wondered why God brought this lamb into my life on such an odd day and in a time in my life where I actually AM quite busy.

The next morning I got a text letting me know that my nephew had been born and I knew right then that this was the reason. I knew that if I didn't have anything warm and new to cuddle and nurture, then I'd be extremely sad about not being able to meet my nephew. As it was, I tried not to think about it too much. This little lamb needed affection and held her face against mine while half closing her eyes, enjoying the warmth of my body and arms. I enjoyed her smell and the way she felt. I laughed at the way she walked between my legs and nudged at my thighs when she wanted a feed.

But my time with her was short. I said sorry to her this afternoon when I walked in to feed her with some warm milk in a bottle and found that indeed she had died. I knew this morning that she was almost willing herself to die, but I thought I'd try one last time to feed her - and I was too late. I stroked her beautiful hair and kissed her on the head like I did when she was alive. I cried.

Rest in peace, little lamb and thank you for coming in to my life, even if it was only for a short time.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.